我們服務多元化國家的承諾

People holding the American flag

為了觸及更廣泛的受眾,我們今年在 IRS.gov 上開發了許多方法並以許多語言來提供資訊。

瞭解國稅局、其人員以及影響納稅人的問題


Person on laptop with multiple languages coming out of the screen for IRS.gov

吉姆·克利福德
CL-21-03ZHT, 2021 年 1 月 21 日

儘管國稅局一直致力於在這些充滿挑戰的時期為本國的納稅人提供幫助,但我們也專注於我們的核心使命,其中包括盡我們所能來改善納稅人與國稅局的互動。

雷蒂格局長經常說,納稅人服務的價值必須透過納稅人的眼光來衡量,這種信念驅使我們努力確保國稅局尊重我們國家的多元性,並努力為所有納稅人服務。

多語言的納稅人和多語言的國稅局員工為我們國家的最終成功提供了極其寶貴的貢獻。許多納稅人在納稅和獲得援助和資訊時碰到了各種挑戰並限制。當機構伸出援手提供援助或服務時,那些不習慣以英語互動的人往往得不到足夠的服務。局長已將以納稅人最習慣的語言為他們提供協助列為我們需要更加努力的優先項目。改善為所有納稅人提供的服務對我們而言相當重要,並且一直在迅速擴展我們的多語言計劃。在這方面,我想花一點時間強調我們在國稅局在這一領域正在做的一些事情,並談論我們的長期策略。

國稅局能為多元化群體提供服務的最重要其中一項方式就是以他們偏好的語言和他們溝通。我們在主要溝通產品上提供西班牙文版本已經有很長的歷史了,這些產品包括網頁內容、社交媒體文章、IRS2Go 行動應用程式以及預扣稅估算機。並且國稅局在七月舉辦的 國家稅務論壇(英文)以及包含全體會議在內的數次研討會都提供了西班牙文版本。

由於美國境內一共說著超過 350 種語言,我們知道我們可以做得更多,我們想做得更多,而且我們正在做得更多。早在春天,在我們遍布全國的合作夥伴的幫助下,以 35 種不同的語言提供了經濟影響補助金的宣傳資料。為了觸及更廣泛的受眾,我們今年在 IRS.gov 上開發了多種方式以多種語言提供資訊。我們成立了全新的 「語言(英文)」頁面,將基本稅務資訊翻譯成了 20 多種語言。特定高流量網頁已被翻譯成西班牙文、中文(簡體和繁體)、韓文、俄文、越南文和海地克里奧爾文。網站訪客能在相應網頁的右側在標題下看到前往供應翻譯的連結。我們還加大了在社交媒體(包括推特和 Instagram)上使用多種語言的努力。

國稅局能為多元化群體提供服務的最重要其中一項方式就是以他們偏好的語言和他們溝通。

展望未來,我們將繼續努力,以加快發展非英語語言的清晰指引、表格和說明的能力。我們會在高流量的通知中加入關於翻譯服務的資訊。為確保我們正處於正確的道路,我們開發了相互配合的國稅局全服務多語言改善作法,以及確保國稅局能服務所有納稅人的工具、資訊獲取、知識,以及資源,並讓每個人都能盡可能簡單地滿足他們的稅務責任。目前已經有一些短期計劃正在著手進行,包含在 IRS.gov 上提供更多多語言加強功能、提供更多語言的稅務表單以及出版物、購置翻譯服務、加強客戶觸及率,以及協助翻譯的電腦軟體。

在剛開始這項努力後,我們已經在大多數面對納稅人的服務中增添了電話口譯師(OPI)服務,包括在 (800) 829-1040 專線中提供全國性電話口譯師支援,此專線扮演著國稅局的多語言服務的入口。我們還期望在 2021 年進一步擴大電話協助,加強我們的多語言服務。還有,對於即將到來的報稅季,我對於另一項重要成就感到非常自豪 —— 我們將會首次推出西班牙版本的《表格 1040》!除了提供英文以及西班牙版本外,2020 年的《表格 1040》還會給納稅人在英語程度不足附件上是否希望以英文以外的其他 20 種語言接受書面通訊的機會。

這項策略的發展以及執行全是團隊努力的功勞。我們在今年稍早的時候成立了國家多語言利害關係人參與委員會,將國稅局內外的人們召集在一起,討論我們的多語言策略,並在前進的道路上合作。該委員會在 2020 年時舉辦了兩次國家多語言利害關係人峰會,將近 20 個外部的多元化組織討論了參與、諮詢與合作、理解障礙、克服挑戰,和發現機遇的策略。這是我們將合作夥伴社群概念轉化為實體的良好範例,我相信,透過不斷的合作,我們將繼續為欠缺服務的群體增加機會。

國稅局的多語言改善作法建立了長期的企業願景,以擴展溝通管道和服務以滿足多語言納稅人的需求。這項作法希望指引國稅局群體的方向、使命校正、投資,以及問責制,讓多語言納稅人能夠有意義的獲得國稅局的產品和服務。在接下來的幾年中,多語言作法意圖透過提供寶貴的協助贏得多語言納稅人的信任和尊重,讓他們自願遵守申報、提報,以及付款的義務。國稅局群體將會透過聘僱公家以及私人廠商評估以及實施新興的翻譯和口譯技術、增加互動管道的價值、建立夥伴關係以加強教育以及獲得服務的機會,以及將國稅局的作業最佳化以在內部和外部支援對多語言的努力以達成此成果。此外,我們將加強與社區組織的合作關係,以加強意識和整體的稅務法律遵從性。

我們希望為每個人提供持續性的高品質個人化服務,不論他們身在何處,背景是什麼,或者他們說什麼語言。這些對全服務多語言的努力一直是局長高度重視的事情,並將一直是國稅局的優先事項。在能更有意義地向納稅人提供滿足其稅務義務的工具、知識以及資源的願景下,我們最終的目的是加強每個人的納稅人體驗。

吉姆·克利福德
納稅人經驗策略國稅局第一辦公室處長

Jim Clifford Director, IRS Taxpayer First Office, Taxpayer Experience Strategy

關於作者

不論是法律遵從或是服務方面,吉姆在幾乎每個面對納稅人的國稅局計劃都曾擔任過高階主管。

雷蒂格局長在 2019 年要求吉姆擔任帶領納稅人優先法案的實施的四位行政主管中的其中一位。吉姆在任職於納稅人優先法案辦公室(TFAO)時將他豐富的跨領域經驗進行彙整並帶領納稅人優先法案策略的制定 —— 重新構想了國稅局為納稅人服務的方式。

相關內容

 

用免費申報影片免費自行報稅(英文)

訂閱

國稅局提供幾種關於各種稅務主題的電子新聞訂閱。訂閱 (英文)之後,即可在新的內容發佈時,獲得電子郵件提醒。

Our Commitment to Serving a Diverse Nation

People holding the American flag

To reach out to broader audiences, this year we developed numerous ways to provide information in multiple languages on IRS.gov.

Get to know the IRS, its people and the issues that affect taxpayers


Person on laptop with multiple languages coming out of the screen for IRS.gov

By Jim Clifford
CL-21-03, January 21, 2021

While the IRS has been focused on helping the nation’s taxpayers during these challenging times, we’re also focused on our core mission, which includes doing everything we can to improve taxpayer interactions with the IRS.

Commissioner Rettig frequently says that the value of taxpayer services must be measured through the eyes of the taxpayer, and that belief drives our efforts to ensure the IRS honors the diversity in our nation and strives to serve all taxpayers.

Multilingual taxpayers, and multilingual IRS employees, provide extremely valuable contributions to the ultimate success of our country. Many taxpayers have various challenges and face constraints when doing their taxes and getting access to assistance and information. Those who are not comfortable interacting in English are often underserved when agencies reach out to provide assistance or services. The Commissioner has made it a priority for us to do more to help taxpayers in their most comfortable language. Improving service to all taxpayers is important to us and we have been rapidly expanding our multilingual initiatives. In this regard, I wanted to take a moment to highlight some of what we’re doing at the IRS in this area and talk about our longer-term strategies.

One of the most important ways the IRS can serve diverse communities is by communicating with them in the language of their choice. We’ve had a long history of providing major communications products in Spanish, including web content, social media posts, the IRS2Go mobile app and the Tax Withholding Estimator. And in July, at the IRS Nationwide Tax Forum, several seminars, including the plenary session, were also provided in Spanish.

With more than 350 different languages spoken in the U.S., we know we can do more, we want to do more and we are. Back in the spring, with the help of our partners across the country, Economic Impact Payment outreach materials were made available in 35 different languages. To reach out to broader audiences, this year we developed numerous ways to provide information in multiple languages on IRS.gov. There is a new “Languages” page that has basic tax information translated into 20 languages. Certain high-volume web pages have been translated into, Spanish, Chinese (Simplified and Traditional), Korean, Russian, Vietnamese and Haitian-Creole. Website visitors can see the links to available translations on the right side of applicable web pages, just below the title. We have also expanded our efforts to use multiple languages on social media, including Twitter and Instagram.

One of the most important ways the IRS can serve diverse communities is by communicating with them in the language of their choice.

Looking forward, we will continue to pursue our ability to accelerate the development of clear guidance, forms and instructions in non-English languages. We are including information regarding translation services with our high-volume notices. To make sure we are on the right path, we’ve developed a coordinated IRS Servicewide Multilingual Improvement Approach with the tools, access, knowledge and resources necessary to ensure the IRS serves all taxpayers and makes it as easy as possible for everyone to meet their tax responsibilities. Several short-term initiatives are underway, including more multilingual enhancements on IRS.gov, expanded availability of tax forms and publications in additional languages, procurement of translation services, enhanced customer outreach, and computer software to aid in translation.

Having just recently kicked off this effort, we’ve already expanded Over the Phone Interpreter (OPI) services in most taxpayer-facing functions, including across-the nation OPI support for the (800) 829-1040 line, which serves as a gateway for multilingual services across the IRS. We are also looking at further expanding telephone assistance to improve our multilingual services for 2021. And I’m very pleased about another key accomplishment for the upcoming filing season - we will provide the Form 1040 in Spanish for the first time! In addition to being available in English and Spanish, the 2020 Form 1040 will also give taxpayers the opportunity on Schedule LEP to indicate whether they prefer to receive written communications in one of 20 languages other than English.

The development and execution of this strategy is a team effort. Earlier this year, we established a National Multilingual Stakeholder Engagement Council to bring together people inside and outside the IRS to discuss our multilingual strategy and collaborate on the path forward. During 2020, the Council coordinated two National Multilingual Stakeholder Summits, with nearly 20 external diverse organizations discussing strategies for engagement, advisory and collaboration, understanding barriers, overcoming challenges and identifying opportunities. This is an excellent example of our Community of Partners concept in action and I’m confident that with this ongoing collaborative effort, we’ll be continuing to expand opportunities for the underserved communities going forward.

The IRS Multilingual Improvement Approach establishes a long-term enterprise vision for expanding communications and services to meet the needs of multilingual taxpayers. It is intended to guide the direction, mission alignment, investments, and accountability of the IRS community in providing multilingual taxpayers with meaningful access to IRS products and services. Over the next few years, the Multilingual Approach is designed to earn the trust and respect of multilingual taxpayers by providing valuable assistance in their efforts to voluntarily comply with their filing, reporting and payment obligations. The IRS community will accomplish this outcome by evaluating and implementing emerging translation and interpretation technology through engaging public and private vendors, increasing the value of interaction channels, partnering to enhance education and access of services, and optimizing IRS operations to support multilingual efforts both internally and externally. Further, we will enhance our partnerships with community-based organizations to increase awareness and overall tax compliance.

We want to provide ongoing, high-quality, personalized service to everyone, no matter where they live, what their background is, or what language they speak. These Servicewide multilingual efforts have been a high priority for the Commissioner and will remain a priority of the IRS indefinitely. With a vision of providing taxpayers more meaningful access to the tools, knowledge and resources necessary to fulfill their tax obligations, our ultimate goal is an improved taxpayer experience for everyone.

Jim Clifford
Director, IRS Taxpayer First Office, Taxpayer Experience Strategy

Jim Clifford Director, IRS Taxpayer First Office, Taxpayer Experience Strategy

About the Author

Jim has provided executive leadership over nearly every taxpayer-facing program the IRS administers, across both compliance and service environments.

In 2019, Commissioner Rettig asked Jim to serve as one of the four core executives leading the Taxpayer First Act implementation. Through his role in the Taxpayer First Act Office (TFAO), Jim has been able to bring together his expansive and crosscutting experience to lead the development of TFA strategies—reimagining the way IRS serves taxpayers.
 

 

Related Content

 

Do Your Taxes for Free With Free File video

A Closer Look

Read all our posts about a  variety of timely issues of interest to taxpayers and the tax community

Subscribe

The IRS offers several e-News subscriptions on a variety of tax topics. Subscribe to get email alerts when new content is posted.