备灾(纳税人和企业)

计划在灾难发生时该怎么做是做好备灾的一个重要部分。国税局鼓励纳税人保护他们的记录。一些简单的步骤可以帮助纳税人和企业在发生灾难时保护财务和税务记录。

下面列出的是个人和企业备灾提示。

无纸化保存财务和税务记录

许多人通过电子邮件收到银行对账单和文件。这是安全保存财务记录的一个好办法。重要的税务记录比如 W-2s,报税表等纸质版文件可以扫描成电子格式。

一定要备份您的电子文件,并把它们存放在一个安全的地方。制作副本并将其保存在单独的位置是一个很好的商业惯例。其它选项包括将文件复制到 CD DVD 上。而且,许多零售商店出售可以用来保存记录的电脑软件包。

当您选择一个地方保存您的重要记录时,您不应该重点考虑离家近。记住,发生在您家里的灾难也可能影响到附近的其他设施,使您无法快速甚至不能检索您的记录。

记录贵重物品和商业设备

国税局有针对个人的灾害损失工作手册( 刊物 584,意外事故死亡、灾害和盗窃损失工作手册 (英文)以及企业(刊物 584-B,企业意外事故死亡、灾害和盗窃损失工作手册 (英文))可以帮助您逐间房整理物品或商务设备清单。这有助您基于保险和意外事故死亡损失索赔时回忆并证明物品的市场价值。

一个选择是拍摄或录像您的家庭和/或企业物品,特别是高价值的物品。您应该把照片存放在远离危险地区的朋友或家人那里。

信用债券检查

使用工资表服务提供商的雇主应询问服务提供商是否有信用债券。该债券在工资表服务提供商违约时可以保护雇主。

企业运营计划的连续性

灾难发生后,您的公司恢复业务的速度通常取决于今日的应急计划。现在就开始计划,提高公司存续和恢复的可能性。每年检查您的应急计划。正如您的企业随着时间的推移而变化,您的准备需求也会随之变化。当您雇佣新员工或公司运作方式发生变化时,您应该更新您的计划并通知您的员工。

加强备灾防患于未然。以下备灾策略适用所有灾害。您只需计划一次应对所有类型的灾害。

  • 了解危险和紧急情况,并学习如何应对特定的危险。
  • 制定应急计划。
  • 了解何处可以躲避各种危险。
  • 定期备份您的计算机数据系统。
  • 决定如何与员工、客户和其他人保持沟通。
  • 使用手机、对讲机或其他不依赖电力的设备作为电信系统的备份。
  • 收集并组装一个救灾物资箱。包括便携式发电机。
  • 确定社区警报系统和疏散路线。
  • 包括社区和学校计划所需的信息。
  • 练习并维持您的计划。

更新应急预案

应每年审查应急计划。个人和商业环境会随着时间的推移而变化,准备的需求也会随之改变。个人纳税人应该确保他们保存了所有人都应该保存的文件,包括 W-2s、房屋结算单和保险记录。当雇主雇用新员工或公司或组织改变职能时,应相应地更新计划,并应将变化通知员工。

确保您有工具接收恶劣天气信息;如果您有一个美国国家海洋和大气管理局(NOAA)的气象收音机,记得更换电池。确保您知道当恶劣天气来临时该怎么做。

依靠国税局

在意外事故死亡发生后,您可以通过表 4506,索取一份报税单 (英文) PDF从而获得一份报税单和其所有附件(包括表 W-2)。

如果您只是需要税务资料申报表,您可以免费订购一份誊本,拨打电话 (800) 829-1040 或使用表 4506-T,索取报税表誊本(英文) PDF。还可以通过在线或邮寄的形式索取誊本,请访问获得誊本页面,这种誊本适用于目前的年度以及前三年处理的报税表。IRS.gov 是您备灾和灾后重建的不可或缺的资源。

Information For...

For you and your family
Standard mileage and other information

Forms and Instructions

Individual Tax Return
Instructions for Form 1040
Request for Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) and Certification
Request for Transcript of Tax Return

 

Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate
Employer's Quarterly Federal Tax Return
Employers engaged in a trade or business who pay compensation
Installment Agreement Request

Popular For Tax Pros

Amend/Fix Return
Apply for Power of Attorney
Apply for an ITIN
Rules Governing Practice before IRS

Preparing for a Disaster (Taxpayers and Businesses)

Planning what to do in case of a disaster is an important part of being prepared. The Internal Revenue Service encourages taxpayers to safeguard their records. Some simple steps can help taxpayers and businesses protect financial and tax records in case of disasters.

Listed below are tips for individuals and businesses on preparing for a disaster.

Take Advantage of Paperless Recordkeeping for Financial and Tax Records

Many people receive bank statements and documents by e-mail. This method is an outstanding way to secure financial records. Important tax records such as W-2s, tax returns and other paper documents can be scanned onto an electronic format.

Be sure you back up your electronic files and store them in a safe place. Making duplicates and keeping them in a separate location is a good business practice. Other options include copying files onto a CD or DVD. Also, many retail stores sell computer software packages that you can use for recordkeeping.

When choosing a place to keep your important records, convenience to your home should not be your primary concern. Remember, a disaster that strikes your home is also likely to affect other facilities nearby, making quick retrieval of your records difficult and maybe even impossible.

Document Valuables and Business Equipment

The IRS has disaster loss workbooks for individuals ( Publication 584, Casualty, Disaster, and Theft Loss Workbook) and businesses ( Publication 584-B, Business Casualty, Disaster, and Theft Loss Workbook) that can help you compile a room-by-room list of your belongings or business equipment. This will help you recall and prove the market value of items for insurance and casualty loss claims.

One option is to photograph or videotape the contents of your home and/or business, especially items of greater value. You should store the photos with a friend or family member who lives away from the geographic area at risk.

Check on Fiduciary Bonds

Employers who use payroll service providers should ask the provider if they have a fiduciary bond in place. The bond could protect the employer in the event of default by the payroll service provider.

Continuity of Operations Planning for Businesses

How quickly your company can get back to business after a disaster often depends on emergency planning done today. Start planning now to improve the likelihood that your company will survive and recover. Review your emergency plans annually. Just as your business changes over time, so do your preparedness needs. When you hire new employees or when there are changes in how your company functions, you should update your plans and inform your people.

There are real benefits to being prepared for disasters. The following preparedness strategies are common to all disasters. You plan only once, and are able to apply your plan to all types of hazards.

  • Get informed about hazards and emergencies and learn what to do for specific hazards.
  • Develop an emergency plan.
  • Learn where to seek shelter from all types of hazards.
  • Back up your computer data systems regularly.
  • Decide how you will communicate with employees, customers and others.
  • Use cell phones, walkie-talkies, or other devices that do not rely on electricity as a backup to your telecommunications system.
  • Collect and assemble a disaster supplies kit. Include a portable generator.
  • Identify the community warning systems and evacuation routes.
  • Include required information from community and school plans.
  • Practice and maintain your plan.

Update Emergency Plans

Emergency plans should be reviewed annually. Personal and business situations change over time and so do preparedness needs. Individual taxpayers should make sure they are saving documents everybody should keep including such things as W-2s, home closing statements and insurance records. When employers hire new employees or when a company or organization changes functions, plans should be updated accordingly and employees should be informed of the changes.

Make sure you have a means of receiving severe weather information; if you have a NOAA Weather Radio, put fresh batteries in it. Make sure you know what you should do if threatening weather approaches.

Count on the IRS

Immediately after a casualty, you can request a copy of a return and all attachments (including Form W-2) by using Form 4506, Request for Copy of Tax Return (PDF).

If you just need information from your return, you can order a free transcript by calling (800) 829-1040 or using Form 4506-T, Request for Transcript of Tax Return (PDF). Requests for Transcripts are also available using the online and mail options found on the Get Transcript page. Transcripts are available for the current year and returns processed in the three prior years. IRS.gov is an indispensable resource as you prepare for and recover from disaster.


Rate the Small Business and Self-Employed Website