身份竊取以及失業補助的資訊

由有組織犯罪團伙利用偷來的身份提交欺詐性失業的申報在各州激增。犯罪分子正在利用這些被盜身份在多個州欺詐性地領取福利。

由於失業救濟金是應稅收入,各州向領取者和國稅局發放1099- G表,某些政府補助金(英文),以報告收到的應稅補償金和任何預扣款項。表格上的方框1顯示"失業補償" 。您應該向發表格的州政府機構報告欺詐行為,並要求提供更正的1099-G表。

關於如何向各州勞務管理局報告欺詐行為、如何獲得更正的1099-G表、各州聯繫人名單以及如果您是受害者應採取的其他步驟,請參閱美國勞工部的DOL.gov/fraud(英文)頁面。請遵循勞工部關於報告欺詐和保護自己免受更多騙局的指導。

您可能是失業身份盜竊的受害者,如果您收到了:

  • 來自政府機構的關於失業申報或救濟金的郵件,而您最近並沒有申請失業福利。這包括未預期的救濟金或借記卡,可能來自任何州。             
  • 反映了您沒有預期的失業救濟金的國稅局的1099-G表。這張表的方框1可能顯示您沒有收到的失業救濟金或超過您收到的失業救濟金的記錄金額。該表格本身可能是來自您沒有申報福利的州。             
  • 來自您雇主的通知,而您仍在就業,顯示您的雇主收到了以您名義的失業申報的信息。

國稅局為納稅人提供的信息

當您申報您的所得稅時,只包括您收到的收入,即使您還沒有從州政府收到更正的1099-G

  • 在您的失業身份盜竊報告被調查期間,不應該推遲您的報稅程序。             
  • 不要在報稅時報告不正確的1099-G收入。             
  • 2021年的美國救援計劃規定,對去年收入在15萬美元以下的個人和夫婦一次性免除每人10,200美元的失業救濟金收入。如果您已經報了稅,請不要提交修正的申報表。國稅局將發布額外的指導。             
  • 毋須申報《表格 14039 — 身份竊取宣誓書》。《表格 14039》只有在納稅人進行電子申報時因為相同的社會安全號碼已申報過而被拒絕或國稅局指示他們使用《表格 14039》申報時才申報。         
  • 作為失業救濟金身份盜竊騙局受害者的納稅人,應該考慮加入國稅局的身份保護PIN碼計劃。IP PIN碼是個六位數字,有助於防止竊賊以身份盜竊受害者的名義申報聯邦稅。IP PIN碼是個自願性計劃,向任何能夠驗證自己身份的納稅人開放。更多詳情請見獲取身份保護 PIN。 

國稅局為僱主提供的資訊

僱主往往是防止失業欺詐的第一道防線。 雇主應該:

  • 迅速回應州政府關於其雇員申請失業救濟的通知,特別是當通知上的名字不是雇員時;
  • 對濫用國稅局頒發的僱主識別號碼保持警惕,因為欺詐者可能會利用此號碼來申請失業救濟;
  • 如果公司的EIN被用來申報虛假的失業救濟金申請, 提交14039-B表格(英文) PDF,商業身份盜竊宣誓書。
  • 如果公司即將停業,請寫信給國稅局關閉企業稅帳戶; 這將有助於遏制對休眠 EIN 的濫用。

司法部發出有關假失業救濟金網站的警告

司法部最近警告說,欺詐者正在創建模仿失業救濟金的網站,包括州勞務管理局(SWA)網站,目的是非法獲取消費者的個人資訊。

為了引誘消費者進入這些假網站,欺詐者發送垃圾簡訊和電子郵件,聲稱是來自SWA並包含一個連結。 這些假網站的目的是欺騙消費者,讓他們以為自己在申請失業救濟金,並披露個人身份資訊和其他敏感數據。 這些信息隨後可被騙子用來進行身份盜竊。

通過使用 DOL.gov/fraud (英文) 網站上的州聯繫人名單來報告欺詐,阻止這些騙局。

Identity Theft and Unemployment Benefits

States have experienced a surge in fraudulent unemployment claims filed by organized crime rings using stolen identities. Criminals are using these stolen identities to fraudulently collect benefits across multiple states.

Because unemployment benefits are taxable income, states issue Form 1099-G, Certain Government Payments, to recipients and to the IRS to report the amount of taxable compensation received and any withholding. Box 1 on the form shows "Unemployment Compensation." You should report fraud to the issuing state agency and request a corrected Form 1099-G.

For details on how to report fraud to state workforce agencies, how to obtain a corrected Form 1099-G, a list of state contacts and other steps you should take if you are a victim, see the U.S. Department of Labor’s DOL.gov/fraud page. Please follow Department of Labor guidance on reporting fraud and protecting yourself from additional scams.

You may be a victim of unemployment identity theft if you received:

  • Mail from a government agency about an unemployment claim or payment and you did not recently file for unemployment benefits. This includes unexpected payments or debit cards and could be from any state.
  • An IRS Form 1099-G reflecting unemployment benefits you weren't expecting. Box 1 on this form may show unemployment benefits you did not receive or an amount that exceeds your records for the unemployment benefits you did receive. The form itself may be from a state in which you did not file for benefits.
  • While you are still employed, a notice from your employer indicating that your employer received a request for information about an unemployment claim in your name.

IRS Information for Taxpayers

When you file your income taxes, ONLY include income you received, even if you have not yet received a corrected 1099-G from the state.
 

  • The processing of your tax return should not be delayed while your report of unemployment identity theft is under investigation.
  • Do not report the incorrect 1099-G income on your tax return.
  • The American Rescue Plan of 2021 provides for a one-time exemption of $10,200 per person in unemployment benefits to individuals and couples who earned $150,000 or less last year. If you have already filed your taxes, do not file an amended return. The IRS will issue additional guidance.
  • There is no requirement to file a Form 14039, Identity Theft Affidavit. A Form 14039 should be filed only if the taxpayers' e-filed tax return is rejected because a duplicate return with their Social Security number is already on file or if the IRS instructs them to file a Form 14039.
  • Taxpayers who were victims of an unemployment benefits identity theft scheme should consider opting into the IRS Identity Protection PIN program. An IP PIN is a six-digit number that helps prevent thieves from filing federal tax returns in the names of identity theft victims. The IP PIN is a voluntary program open to any taxpayer who can verify his or her identity. See details at Get an IP PIN.

IRS Information for Employers

Employers are often the first line of defense against unemployment fraud. Employers should:

  • Respond quickly to state notices that its employees have filed for unemployment claims, especially if the names on the notices are not employees;
  • Be alert to misuse of the IRS-issued Employer Identification Number that fraudsters may use to file jobless claims;
  • File a Form 14039-B, Business Identity Theft Affidavit, if the company’s EIN is being used to generate fraudulent unemployment benefit claims.
  • Write to the IRS to close out the business tax account if the company is going out of business; this will help curtail the misuse of dormant EINs.

Justice Department Warns on Fake Unemployment Benefit Websites

The Department of Justice recently warned that fraudsters are creating websites mimicking unemployment benefit websites, including state workforce agency (SWA) websites, for the purpose of unlawfully capturing consumers’ personal information.
To lure consumers to these fake websites, fraudsters send spam text messages and emails purporting to be from an SWA and containing a link. The fake websites are designed to trick consumers into thinking they are applying for unemployment benefits and disclosing personally identifiable information and other sensitive data. That information can then be used by fraudsters to commit identity theft.

Help stop these scams by reporting them and using the list of state contacts at DOL.gov/fraud.