谈及税收骗局,知识就是力量

People holding the American flag

仔细了解 IRS 欺诈执法办公室如何打击身份盗窃、退款欺诈和其他犯罪活动,并了解您可以帮助打击这些活动的方式。

了解 IRS、其人员以及影响纳税人的问题


People looking at tax forms with the words Phone, Form, Email and Text on the bottom

Damon Rowe
CL-21-18ZHS, 2021 年 6 月 17 日

本人监督 IRS 欺诈执法办公室以及 IRS 刑事调查的早期职业生涯中,亲眼目睹犯罪分子非常擅长利用我们的情绪引诱我们上当受骗。

我们很容易认为自己上此类骗局的当,但恐惧等强烈的情感,会驱使许多人去做他们本来不会做的事情。考虑您对以下情况可能作出怎样的反应:

  • 一个称来自 IRS 的人来电,说您必须立即支付税单,否则本地警方会在 10 分钟内逮捕您?
  • 您的报税员让您在需要之后填写的空白 1040 表格上签字?
  • 一封声称来自 IRS 的电子邮件,要求您点击链接“核实”信息? 
  • 一条带链接的短信,让您填写申请,领取您的“延迟”经济影响付款支票?

犯罪分子需要受害者相信他们,所以他们试图通过威胁受害者,如果他们不立即支付伪造的税单就会被捕,来灌输恐惧感和紧迫感。或者,他们利用受害者的信任,认为正在获得帮助,提供他们的个人信息和财务信息就会获得经济利益或应得到的东西。即使是我们中最聪明的人也可能被精明而寡廉鲜耻的恶棍欺骗。

“12 大报税骗局”税收骗局

全球都会发生税收骗局,但在报税季达到巅峰,因为人们编制纳税申报表或聘请他人帮他们报税。了解哪些骗局盛行,可以帮助您避免成为受害者。2003 年以来,IRS 基于利用纳税人的全新和不断发展的企图,发布每年“12 大报税骗局 (英文)”税收骗局名单。该名单帮助纳税人和税收专业人士识别和避免骗局。2021 年“12 大报税骗局”名单将于下周发布,敬请关注。本人在 IRS 的工作经验告诉本人,犯罪分子不断改变旧骗局,创造新骗局来恐吓、欺骗和蒙骗受害者,让其交出金钱和个人信息。

在 2003 年最初“12 大报税骗局”名单中,我们警告说,冒充 IRS 人员的犯罪分子会到您家要钱。虽然真正 IRS 人员或官员确实会来您家,但这种拜访通常发生在您收到税单,或之前多次通过电子邮件通知您,而您未予回应之后。IRS.gov 提供一些提示,帮助您查明到底是不是 IRS 来电或敲您的家门 (英文)。尽管 IRS 员工可能不定期亲自拜访,但在拜访时,他们始终提供两种形式的官方凭证。如果您想核实这些凭证上的信息,他们会提供给您一个 IRS 专门的电话号码,用来核实信息和确认其身份。在个别情况下,纳税人认为 IRS 官员是骗子,遂用暴力威胁他们。这样做属于犯罪行为。如果纳税人真正与骗子互动,也不应用暴力威胁骗子。相反,纳税人应退出互动,报告问题 (英文)。 

时代变迁,最近“12 大报税骗局”名单包括使用社交媒体、电话和电脑攻击的骗局。为何作出改变?2003 年以来,绝大多数的假冒骗局是通过电话或在线进行的。互联网令骗局他人变得更容易、更普遍。

寻找什么——不断演变的骗局

犯罪分子常常在不利环境中寻找机会。冠状病毒和救灾骗局是主要焦点,因为诈骗犯试图收集人们的经济影响付款,并利用对自然灾害受害者的支持。  去年“12 大报税骗局”名单警告纳税人注意在电子邮件、信函、短信和虚假网站链接中使用“冠状病毒”、“COVID-19”和“激励”等关键词的骗局。我们还警告突然出现的与飓风、洪水、暴风雪和野火等自然灾害相关的骗局,此时犯罪分子会开设店铺寻求帮助受害者的捐款。 

网络钓鱼计划是一种屡试不爽的方法,骗您点击链接或打开附件。这些电子邮件设计得像是来自银行、您的上司、信用卡公司、网上商店等。一旦犯罪分子获得您的个人信息,他们就可以用这些信息为所欲为,包括用这些信息提交虚假纳税申报表或申请失业救济金等福利。

我们都有可能接到此类电话,听到对方试图让我们泄露个人信息。 电话诈骗的对象通常是老年人、信息获取渠道有限的人以及偏好用母语交流的移民。许多这样的电话都是“自动接听电话”(一种文本转换为语音的录音信息,提供回复电话的指示),但在某些情况下,这些电话是由真人拨打的。这些犯罪分子可能有一些准确的个人信息,使这些电话似乎合法。

再次强调,需要注意的是,某些情况下,IRS 员工可能通过电话联系纳税人。通常,接到 IRS 员工来电之前,纳税人会收到 IRS 关于税务问题的一份或多份通知或其他通信或联系方式。真正的 IRS 员工始终会告诉纳税人来电的原因,解释税务问题,并解释纳税人的权利,以及如果纳税人不同意 IRS 的做法,可以享有怎样的追索权。真正的 IRS 员工不会威胁逮捕纳税人,要求以异常方式付款,或指示个人向美国财政部以外的个人或实体支付款项。如果您已经提交纳税申报表,并且不欠税,或者有理由认为您欠税,而您突然接到“来自 IRS”的电话,请询问该员工您如何核实他们是 IRS 员工的身份。如果您无法核实,不得泄漏任何信息。请立即挂断电话,联系税务总局税务稽查员报告来电事宜。使用我们的 IRS 假冒骗局报告 (英文) 网页,通过向 phishing@irs.gov 发送电子邮件,主题行为“IRS 电话诈骗”,报告来电人员的 ID 和/或回拨号码。

有助益的提示:如果您欠税,会认为欠税,您可以在 IRS.gov 在线查看您的纳税账户信息,查看实际欠税金额。

退税骗局每年都利用许多纳税人。大多数税收专业人员为纳税人提供诚实、优质服务,但不幸的是,也有寡廉鲜耻的不诚实报税员试图欺骗或说服无辜纳税人做非法之事。他们通过伪造文件申请纳税人无资格享有的税收抵免,从而承诺一大笔退款,然后报税员将退款的一部分作为其“费用”。 受害者在纳税申报表上签字,然后负责缴纳任何欠缴税收。IRS 对纳税申报表提出质疑时,报税员已经远去,纳税人可能没有证据表明是别人编制的纳税申报表。

2003 年以来,绝大多数的假冒骗局是通过电话或在线进行的。互联网令骗局他人变得更容易、更普遍。

漏税

多年来,IRS 收集了许多偷税漏税的实例。这些骗局通常涉及将资产或收入隐藏在海外,设立滥用的避税手段和退休计划,滥用信托,隐藏公司的所有权,或只是在收入时不预扣或缴纳税收。

IRS 的一份历史培训文件 “IRS 75 年(1919-1994)刑事调查史 ”,其中包括关于谁在进行税收欺诈的陈述:

“偷税人存在于各行各业——银行业者、敲诈者、私酒商、制造商、赌徒、法官、立法者、啤酒大亨、参议员、警察局长、公务员、电影明星和大亨、股票发起人以及共谋税务会计师和律师。”

多年来,故事依旧别无二致。没有什么秘密或神奇的办法可以逃税。认为可以避免缴纳所欠税收的人会很震惊。税收欺诈不仅仅意味着支付罚款,还可能包括受到联邦刑事检控。只要观看新闻,就会看到这样的标题:“夫妇被判刑;承认他们没有缴纳 100 万美元税收”和“一名妇女被联邦法院指控税收欺诈”。 IRS《2020 年刑事调查年度报告》显示,IRS 起诉的人中有 80% 进入联邦监狱,平均刑期为 44 个月。

打击税收诈骗

我们坚决致力于追查和起诉欺诈和逃税计划的推动者,但我们不能单独行动。2015 年,我们召集由州税务机构和私营部门税务官员组成的联盟,加强一项重要任务——即打击正在申报虚假退税的犯罪团伙。

安全峰会 (英文)参会人员包括 42 名州税收管理人员和 20 名税收界代表,包括税收筹划公司、软件开发商、工资和税收金融产品加工者、税收专业组织和金融机构。通过共同努力,我们可以打击身份盗窃、退税欺诈和其他犯罪活动,保护美国纳税人,努力对抗不断演变的策略。

作为我们继续关注滥用避税交易推动者的一部分,IRS 最近成立推动者调查办公室(OPI)(英文)。该新办公室将进一步扩大去年夏天开始的“推动者调查协调员”方面的工作。OPI 将协调跨业务部门的工作,解决滥用联合保护地役权和滥用微型受限保险安排以及其他交易方面的问题。尽管 OPI 将安置在 SB/SE 内部,但其工作人员将致力于整个机构的合规问题,包括与其他业务部门的推动者团队协调推广者活动,包括大型企业和跨国公司、免税/政府机构、反欺诈执法和刑事调查办公室。

无论您是税务专业人员、纳税人、州或联邦税收管理员还是行业专业人士,您都为减少骗局发挥着重要作用。谈及安全问题,您应该听过“如果看到什么,就说出来”这句话,这句话和税收欺诈也有关系。这是团队合作,人人齐心协力时,我们就能保护无辜者不上当受骗。任何怀疑税收欺诈 (英文)者都可以向 IRS 税收欺诈咨询热线 800-829-0433 报告。

希望您能与我们一起并肩作战。

Damon Rowe
IRS
反欺诈执法办公室

Photo of Damon Rowe

关于作者

Damon 作为欺诈执法办公室的主任,为 IRS 提供与制定和实施主要活动有关的领导和指导,支持 IRS 发现和阻止欺诈行为的工作。其中包括关注损害联邦税法的纳税人和专业人士的不道德活动,并应对与欺诈报税和相关活动有关的新威胁。除此职位,他还兼任 IRS 部门专员和副专员的首席顾问和咨询师,业务涉及欺诈执法战略计划、项目和政策的所有问题。

 

避免网络钓鱼邮件(英文)

《近距离观察》

阅读我们所有关于纳税人和税务界感兴趣的各种及时问题的文章(英文)

订阅

国税局提供多种税务主题的电子新闻订阅。请订阅(英文)以在发布新内容时获取电子邮件提醒。

When it Comes to Tax Scams, Knowledge is Power

People holding the American flag

Get a closer look at how the IRS Office of Fraud Enforcement is combatting identity theft, refund fraud and other criminal activity and learn ways that you can help in the fight.

Get to know the IRS, its people and the issues that affect taxpayers


People looking at tax forms with the words Phone, Form, Email and Text on the bottom

By Damon Rowe
CL-21-18, June 17, 2021

In my role overseeing the IRS Office of Fraud Enforcement and having spent my early career in IRS Criminal Investigation, I’ve seen firsthand that criminals can be exceptionally good at playing on our emotions to lure us into a scam.

It’s easy for us to think we wouldn’t fall for these types of cons, but strong emotions, such as fear, can drive many people to do things they otherwise wouldn’t. Consider how you might react to:

  • A call from someone claiming to be from the IRS saying you had to pay your tax bill immediately or the local police would be there in 10 minutes to arrest you?
  • Your tax preparer asking you to sign a blank Form 1040 that would be filled in later?
  • An email stating it is from the IRS asking you to click on a link to "verify" information? 
  • A text with a link to fill out an application to receive your “delayed” Economic Impact Payment check?

Criminals need victims to believe them, so they try to instill fear and urgency by threatening the victim with arrest if they don’t pay a bogus tax bill immediately. Or, they play on the victim’s trust that they are being helped and that providing their personal and financial information will result in getting a financial benefit or something they are owed. Even the most street smart among us can be tricked by a savvy and unscrupulous miscreant.

The “Dirty Dozen” Tax Scams

Tax scams occur throughout the year, but peak during filing season as people prepare their returns or hire someone to help with their taxes. Knowing which scams are prevalent can help you avoid becoming a victim. Since 2003, the IRS has issued an annual “Dirty Dozen” list of tax scams based on new and evolving attempts to take advantage of taxpayers. The list helps taxpayers and tax professionals recognize and avoid scams. The 2021 Dirty Dozen list will be issued next week so stay tuned. My work at the IRS has taught me that criminals constantly adapt old scams and create new ones to scare, trick and cheat victims into giving up their money and personal information.

In the original Dirty Dozen list back in 2003, we warned that criminals posing as IRS agents would come to your house and demand money. While it’s true that real IRS agents or officers may, in fact, come to your home, these visits generally happen after you’ve received a bill or been notified several times by mail previously and have not responded. IRS.gov has tips to help you find out if it’s really the IRS calling or knocking on your door. While IRS employees may make unscheduled in-person visits, when doing so, they will always provide two forms of official credentials. And if you would like to verify information on those credentials, they will provide you with a dedicated IRS telephone number for verifying the information and confirming their identity. There have been isolated instances where a taxpayer, believing the IRS officer was a scammer, threatened them with violence. Doing so is a crime. If a taxpayer were in fact interacting with a scammer, the taxpayer should not threaten them with violence either. Instead, the taxpayer should disengage, and report the issue

Times have changed, and the most recent Dirty Dozen list comprises scams using social media, phone calls and computer attacks. Why the change? Since 2003, the great majority of impersonation scams are done via telephone or online. The internet has made scamming people much easier and more widespread.

What to Look for - Evolving Scams

Oftentimes, criminals find opportunity in adversity. Coronavirus and disaster relief scams are a major focus, as scammers try to collect people’s Economic Impact Payments and take advantage of support for victims of natural disasters.  Last year’s Dirty Dozen list warned taxpayers about scams using keywords such as “coronavirus,” “COVID-19” and “stimulus” in emails, letters, texts and links to fake websites. We also warn about scams that crop up related to natural disasters like hurricanes, floods, snowstorms, and wildfires when criminals set up shop seeking donations to help victims. 

Phishing schemes are tried-and-true ways to trick you into clicking on a link or opening an attachment. These emails are designed to look as if they’re from a bank, your boss, a credit card company, an online store, etc. And once a criminal gets your personal information, they can do a variety of things with it, including using that information to file bogus tax returns or claim benefits like unemployment.

We’ve all likely picked up the phone to hear someone on the other end of the line try to get us to divulge personal information. Phone scams often target the elderly, people with limited access to information and immigrants who may prefer communication in their native language. Many of these calls are “robocalls” (a text-to-speech recorded message with instructions for returning the call), but in some cases they are made by a real person. These criminals may have some accurate personal information, making the phone calls seem legitimate.

Once again, it’s important to note that in certain circumstances IRS employees may contact taxpayers by phone. Generally, before receiving such a call from an IRS employee, the taxpayer will have received one or more notices or other correspondence or contacts from IRS regarding the tax matter. True IRS employees will always tell the taxpayer why they are calling, explain the tax matter, and explain the taxpayer’s rights and what recourse is available if the taxpayer disagrees with IRS. True IRS employees will not threaten to have the taxpayer arrested, demand unusual forms of payment, or instruct the individual to make payments payable to an individual or an entity other than the United States Treasury. If you have filed all your returns and don’t owe taxes or have reason to think you do, and you get an unexpected call “from the IRS,” ask the employee how you can verify their identity as an IRS employee. If they can’t, don’t give out any information. Hang up immediately and contact the Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration to report the call. Use our IRS Impersonation Scam Reporting web page and report the caller ID and/or callback number by sending it to phishing@irs.gov with “IRS Phone Scam” in the Subject line.

A helpful tip: If you owe taxes or think you do, you can view your tax account information online at IRS.gov to see the actual amount owed.

Refund scams take advantage of many taxpayers every year. Most tax professionals provide honest, high-quality service to taxpayers, but unfortunately, there are dishonest and unscrupulous return preparers who try to trick or convince innocent taxpayers into doing illegal things. They’ll promise a big refund by fabricating documents to claim credits the taxpayer is not eligible for and then the preparer takes a percentage of the refund as their “fee.” The victim signs the return and is then responsible for any underpayment of tax. When the IRS questions the return, the preparer is gone, and the taxpayer may have no evidence that someone else prepared it.

Since 2003, the great majority of impersonation scams are done via telephone or online. The internet has made scamming people much easier and more widespread.

Tax Evasion

Over the years, the IRS has compiled examples of scams to evade paying taxes. These scams often involve hiding assets or income offshore, setting up abusive tax shelters and retirement plans, misusing trusts, hiding ownership of a company, or just not withholding or paying taxes as income is earned.

A historical IRS training document, "75 years of IRS Criminal Investigation History, 1919-1994", included a statement on who commits tax fraud:

“Tax dodgers are found in all walks of life – bankers, racketeers, bootleggers, manufacturers, gamblers, judges, legislators, beer barons, senators, police chiefs, public officials, movie stars and magnates, stock promoters, and conspiring tax accountants and lawyers.”

Over the years, the story remains the same. There’s no secret or miracle solution to get out of paying taxes. Those who think they can avoid paying what they owe are in for a shock. Tax fraud can mean more than just paying a fine - it can also include federal criminal prosecution. Just watch the news and you’ll see headlines like: “Couple sentenced; admitted they didn't pay $1M in taxes” and “woman charged in federal court with tax fraud.” The IRS Criminal Investigation 2020 Annual Report shows that 80 percent of those prosecuted by the IRS went to federal prison for an average of 44 months.

Fighting Back Against Tax Scams

We are strongly committed to pursuing and prosecuting promoters of schemes for fraud and tax evasion, but we can’t do it alone. In 2015, we convened a coalition of state tax agencies and private-sector tax industry officials to enhance an important task – fighting back against emerging criminal syndicates that were filing fraudulent returns for refunds.

The Security Summit includes 42 state tax administrators and 20 representatives of the tax community, including tax preparation firms, software developers, payroll and tax financial product processors, tax professional organizations and financial institutions. Working together, we can combat identity theft, refund fraud and other criminal activity to protect the nation's taxpayers and work to counter evolving tactics.

As part of our continued focus on promoters of abusive tax avoidance transactions, the IRS recently established the Office of Promoter Investigations (OPI). This new office will further expand on the efforts of the Promoter Investigations Coordinator that began last summer. OPI will coordinate efforts across multiple business divisions to address abusive syndicated conservation easements and abusive micro-captive insurance arrangements, as well as other transactions.
Even though OPI will be positioned within SB/SE, its staff will work on agency-wide compliance issues, including coordination of promoter activities with promoter teams in other business divisions, including Large Business & International, Tax Exempt/Government Entities, the Office of Fraud Enforcement, and Criminal Investigations.

Whether you’re a tax pro, taxpayer, state or federal tax administrator or industry professional, you play an important role in reducing scams. You’ve heard the phrase “If you see something, say something” when it comes to security, and it’s just as relevant to tax fraud. This is a team effort, and when everyone is working together, we protect innocent people from being scammed. Anyone who suspects tax fraud can report it to the IRS Tax Fraud Referral Hotline at 800-829-0433.

I hope you’ll join us in the fight.

Damon Rowe
IRS Office of Fraud Enforcement

Photo of Damon Rowe

About the Author

As the Director of the Office of Fraud Enforcement, Damon provides IRS service wide leadership and guidance related to the development and delivery of major activities in support of IRS' efforts to detect and deter fraud. This encompasses focusing on unscrupulous activities of taxpayers and professional enablers that undermine our Federal Tax Laws and addressing emerging threats as it relates to fraudulent filings and related activities. In this position, he also acts as the principal advisor and consultant to IRS Division Commissioners and Deputy Commissioners on all issues involving fraud enforcement strategic plans, programs and policy.

 

Avoid Phishing Emails

A Closer Look

Read all our posts about a  variety of timely issues of interest to taxpayers and the tax community

Subscribe

The IRS offers several e-News subscriptions on a variety of tax topics. Subscribe to get email alerts when new content is posted.