在成立股份公司時,股東們會投入金錢、財產,或兩樣一起以換取公司的股份。在計算應該納稅的收入時,股份公司可扣除的支出通常和獨資經營企業相同。股份公司還可申報特別扣除項目。就聯邦所得稅而言,C 型股份公司被視為單獨的納稅單位。股份公司經營業務,獲得利潤或虧損,繳納稅金並將盈利分配給股東。

當股份公司獲利時,公司會被課稅,在盈利以股息發給股東時,股東會被課稅。這就造成雙重課稅 (double tax)。股份公司不會因發給股東們股息而獲得稅務減免。股東們也無法在各自的稅表上扣除股份公司的任何虧損。

如果您是 C 型股份公司,請用下列表格提供的資訊來幫助您決定要申報哪些表格。

資產在一千萬美元或以上,而且每年至少申報 250 份稅表的股份公司,須按規定以電子方式申報 2007 年 12 月 31 日為止或之後的稅務年度的 1120 表和 1120-S 表。有關電子報稅的詳情,請參閱企業和自僱納稅人的電子申報(英文)

Forming a Corporation

In forming a corporation, prospective shareholders exchange money, property, or both, for the corporation's capital stock. A corporation generally takes the same deductions as a sole proprietorship to figure its taxable income. A corporation can also take special deductions. For federal income tax purposes, a C corporation is recognized as a separate taxpaying entity. A corporation conducts business, realizes net income or loss, pays taxes and distributes profits to shareholders.

The profit of a corporation is taxed to the corporation when earned, and then is taxed to the shareholders when distributed as dividends. This creates a double tax. The corporation does not get a tax deduction when it distributes dividends to shareholders. Shareholders cannot deduct any loss of the corporation.

If you are a C corporation, use the information in the chart below to help you determine some of the forms you may be required to file.

Corporations that have assets of $10 million or more and file at least 250 returns annually are required to electronically file their Forms 1120 and 1120S for tax years ending on or after December 31, 2007. For more e-file information, see e-file for Business and Self-Employed Taxpayers.

Corporations


Rate the Small Business and Self-Employed Website