Exempt Organizations Business Master File Extract (EO BMF)


The Exempt Organizations Business Master File Extract provides information about an organization from the Internal Revenue Service’s Business Master File. This is a cumulative file, and the data are the most recent information the IRS has for these organizations.

The files are available in comma separated value (CSV) format. The Exempt Organization Business Master File Extract information sheetPDF explains the codes used in the data files.

They are divided by states and regions:

  • States and regions are determined from the filing address and represent the location of an organization’s headquarters, which may or may not represent the state(s) in which an organization has operations.
  • Records are sorted by Employer Identification Number (EIN).
  • There is one file for each state, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.
  • One file for International (non-domestic) organizations.

If you have any questions about the tax exempt organizations or the content of the files, please contact TE/GE Customer Account Services toll-free line at 877-829-5500.

Exempt Organizations by States and Regions

Updated data posting date: 05/08/2023

Record Count: 1,855,251

CSV Files by State

Map of the United StatesWashingtonOregonCaliforniaMontanaIdahoNevadaUtahArizonaColoradoWyomingNew MexicoTexasHawaiiAlaskaOklahomaKansasNebraskaSouth DakotaNorth DakotaMinnesotaIowaWisconsinIllinoisMissouriArkansasLouisianaMichiganIndianaOhioKentuckyTennesseeMississippiAlabamaFloridaGeorgiaSouth CarolinaNorth CarolinaVirginiaWest VirginiaPennsylvaniaMarylandWashington, D.C.DelawareNew JerseyNew YorkConnecticutRhode IslandMassachusettsMaineVermontNew Hampshire

CSV Files by Region

Region 1: Northeast Area (CSV): Includes Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont.

Region 2: Mid-Atlantic and Great Lakes Areas (CSV): Includes Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin.

Region 3: Gulf Coast and Pacific Coast Areas (CSV): Includes Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas, Tennessee, Utah, Washington, Wyoming

Region 4: All Other Areas (CSV): Includes International and all others.


Disclaimer of Endorsement: Reference above to any specific commercial products, process, or service by trade name, or otherwise, does not constitute or imply its endorsement, recommendation, or favoring by the Internal Revenue Service.

Related Links