主題455 - 搬家費給武装部隊成員

如果您是現役武裝部隊的成員,您可能有資格扣除搬家費用如果您的搬家是由於軍事命令和服役地點的永久改變。您或許可以為您自己,您的配偶和家屬扣除您未報銷的搬家費用。

永久改變服役地點 - 這包括 - 從您的家到您的第一個現役職位,從一個永久性職位轉到另一個職位,從您最後一個職位搬到您家或者在美國更近的地方。從最後一個工作崗位的搬遷必須在您結束現役後的1年内進行或在聯合旅行條例允許的期限内。成員的配偶或被扶養人因永久更換駐地而產生的費用也可以,請參考3號刊物【武裝部隊税務指南】(英文)

可扣除的搬家費用 - 您可以扣除對您的搬家情況合理的費用。 您符合條件的搬家費用包括家庭用品、個人物品、倉儲和前往新家的旅行費用(包括住宿)。 您不能扣除任何餐飲費用。

報告搬家費

在3903表【搬遷費】(Form 3903, Moving Expenses)上計算搬家費,並調整收入進行扣除在1040表【美國個人所得稅報稅表附副表1, 額外收入和收入調整】(Form 1040, U.S. Individual Income Tax Return,Schedule 1Additional Income and Adjustments to Income) 上中。但是,如果您於前一年移居美國境外,在您離開美國期間僅申報倉儲費,並且政府為倉儲費支付的任何金額都包含在 您W-2 表格的方框 1 中,則不需要填寫3903 表格。直接在附表1(1040表)第14行報告合格的倉儲費,並在金額旁邊的虛線上填寫 「倉儲」。

更多資訊

欲獲得更多資訊,請參閱3號刊物【武裝部隊税務指南】(英文) 以及 我是否可以扣除搬家費?(英文)

Topic No. 455 Moving Expenses for Members of the Armed Forces

If you're a member of the Armed Forces on active duty, you may be eligible to deduct moving expenses if your move was due to a military order and permanent change of station. You may be able to deduct your unreimbursed moving expenses for you, your spouse and dependents.

Permanent change of station – This includes a move from your home to your first post of active duty, a move from one permanent post of duty to another, and a move from your last post of duty to your home or to a nearer point in the United States. A move from the last post of duty must occur within 1 year of ending your active duty or within the period allowed under the Joint Travel Regulations. The expenses of a member’s spouse or dependent due to permanent change of station may also be eligible; refer to Publication 3, Armed Forces' Tax Guide.

Deductible Moving Expenses - You can deduct expenses that are reasonable for the circumstances of your move. Your eligible moving expenses include household goods, personal effects, storage and traveling expenses (including lodging) to your new home. You can’t deduct any expenses for meals.

Reporting Moving Expenses

Figure moving expenses on Form 3903, Moving Expenses and deduct as an adjustment to income on Form 1040, U.S. Individual Income Tax Return or Form 1040-SR, U.S. Tax Return for Seniors (attach Schedule 1 (Form 1040), Additional Income and Adjustments to Income PDF). However, Form 3903 is not required, if you moved to a location outside the U.S. in an earlier year, are claiming only storage fees while you were away from the U.S. and any amount the government paid for the storage fees is included in box 1 of your Form W-2. Report the qualified storage fees directly on Schedule 1 (Form 1040), line 13, and enter “Storage” on the dotted line next to the amount.

You can't deduct any moving expenses covered by reimbursements from the government (or paid for directly by the government) that are excluded from your income.

Additional Information

For more information, refer to Publication 3, Armed Forces Tax Guide and Can I Deduct My Moving Expenses?