最大限度地提高收入所得税收抵免

People holding the American flag

收入所得税抵免是个重要的反贫困工具。以下是国税局如何维护其诚信。

了解国税局、国税局人员和影响纳税人的问题


EITC words written in the background with people standing on coins

作者:Sunita Lough
CL-21-02ZHS, 2021年1月13日

在之前的《近距离观察》(英文)中,我讨论了国税局所拥有的合规行动“工具包”,以及我们的目标是如何在尽量减轻纳税人负担和维护国家税法之间取得平衡。

我简要地提到的一个领域是我们在遵守收入所得税抵免(EITC)方面的行动。我想详细介绍一下这个话题,可能会有所帮助,因为考虑到它对许多工人和家庭的重要性。

EITC是什么?

EITC是一种联邦税收抵免,它为勤劳的美国工人和家庭提供了财务支持。2019年期间,全国范围内,2500万符合条件的工人和家庭收到了约630亿美元的EITC付款。平均支付金额为$2476。许多工薪家庭通过EITC获得的钱款超过他们支付的联邦所得税。

EITC惠及中低收入工人已有46年的历史。虽然多年来该计划已被多次修改,但该计划的绝大部分福利还是给了有孩子的家庭。

哪些人有资格享受EITC

您是否有资格获得EITC取决于几个因素,其中包括:

  • 您的申报状态:您必须以个人身份报税,或夫妻共同申报。
  • 满足条件的子女:“合格子女”是指您可以申请EITC优惠政策的子女。有合格子女的纳税人通常有资格获得较高的EITC的优惠政策付款。合格子女的定义不仅仅包括纳税人的亲生子女--稍后再谈。在某些情况下,即使是没有合格子女的纳税人也有资格申请EITC优惠政策。
  • 您的年齡:如果您没有符合条件的子女,您必须在25岁以上,但在年底时小于65岁。
  • 您的收入来源和金额:来自不同来源的收入都可以计算在内,包括工资、薪金、自雇和某些残障金。
  • 您的投资收入:您的投资收入不能超过一定的金额。在2020年,这个金额是$3650。投资收入包括资本收益、银行账户利息和股息等。

为了在2020年的纳税年度申请EITC,纳税人必须满足这些调整后的总收入限制:

 
申报状态 0名满足条件子女 1名满足条件子女 2名满足条件子女 3名或以上满足条件子女
作为单身、户主或丧偶 $15,820 $41,756 $47,440 $50,954
已婚夫妻共同申报 $21,710 $47,646 $53,330 $56,844

军人不需要列入不纳税的工资,如果在美国境外长期服役,则被视为在美国有主要的家,以便纳税。神职人员必须包括他们的住房补贴和伤残福利,这取决于所获得的福利类型。

满足条件的子女

要想为EITC优惠政策申请“子女”--从而有资格获得更多的抵免--您必须与该子女有一定的关系。孩子必须是您的:

  • 儿子或女儿
  • 继子女
  • 合法收养的儿童
  • 寄养儿童
  • 兄弟姐妹----继兄弟姐妹、半同胞兄弟姐妹或同胞兄弟姐妹
  • 上述任何一个人的后代

子女必须与您一起在美国生活半年以上。子女必须比您年龄小,而且在您申请抵免的那一年的12月31日未满19岁,除非该子女是全日制学生,在这种情况下,他们必须小于24岁。但是,如果符合条件的孩子是永久性和完全残疾,他们可以是任何年龄。

防止不当付款

有时,纳税人在不符合条件的情况下申请EITC优惠政策,或者申请的减免额大于他们应得的数额。这可能导致我们所说的不当支付。不当付款的原因有很多,但最常见的不当付款来源之一是纳税人错误声称自己有个符合资格的子女。

我们的目标是尽量减少不当付款,因为它们将纳税人的钱转给了没有合法权利的人士。此外,有法律和监管义务要求我们减少这种付款。例如,不正当支付消除和恢复改进法案(IPERIA)要求国税局进行年度风险评估,以确定可能出现重大不正当支付的项目和活动,并报告我们计划采取的行动,以防止未来的EITC不正当支付。EITC优惠政策方面,财政部报告的2019财年不当支付率为25.3%,总额为$174亿。

为了帮助最大限度地减少不当支付,国税局对申请EITC的申报表进行审计计划。我们平均每年对超过2500万份EITC申请中的约30万份EITC审计。

有几个限制因素限制了国税局在不联系申请人要求提供核实信息的情况下核实EITC资格的能力。因此,为了确保EITC计划的公平性和诚信度,国税局每年都会要求申请EITC的人员中略多于1%的人提供核实资料。几乎所有对低收入纳税人的审查都是因为申请EITC减免额而启动的。40%以上的EITC错误与合格子女的资格有关。

EITC的审查是通过邮件进行的,其方式与信函审查一样,干扰性最小。我们知道这些款项对家庭的重要性,所以我们会尽快完成这些审查。就其背景而言,国税局对高收入纳税人的审核率要高得多,我在之前的《近距离观察》(英文)中有过详细解释。

遗憾的是,围绕企业所得税优惠政策资格的规则可能较为复杂,不良行为者总是在寻找欺骗该系统的方法。有些立法措施有可能使EITC更加方便用户使用,具体做法是:

  • 简化资格标准
  • 向国税局提供更多数据来源,以便无缝确认资格。
  • 规范报税人,因为EITC纳税人比其他申报人更有可能使用不受教育要求或税务专业人员资格考试限制的有偿报税人。
  • 为国税局提供更多的灵活性,以纠正错误或在审查程序之外要求提供资格文件。

EITC申请人何时能收到退款?

根据《保护美国人免受税收上涨法》--人们所熟知的《PATH法案》--国税局在2月中旬之前不能对申请EITC或额外儿童税收抵免的报税单发放退款。这使我们有时间更好地识别欺诈性申请,并防止不当支付。在您提交退税后,您可以查看我们的“我的退税在哪里”工具,了解最新信息。

为了让您尽早收到退税的机会最大化,请遵循以下提示:

  • 收集所有您需要的文件,提交报税,如1099表和W-2表
  • 收到所有必要的文件后,尽快提交申报表。
  • 仔细检查您的报税表,确保其内容正确无误。
  • 电子报税
  • 选择将钱款直接存入您的银行账户。

更多关于您是否符合条件的信息

我们估计约有20%符合条件的纳税人没有申请EITC优惠政策。我们希望每个有资格申请EITC优惠的人员都能申请,毕竟这是属于您的钱款。为了帮助确定您是否符合资格,国税局有两种资源:

  • 一个名为EITC助手的互动在线工具。我们最近重新设计了这个工具,使它更方便用户使用,而且现在它是手机友好型的,有英语和西班牙语的版本。
  • 一页问卷,5334号刊物《我有资格申请EITC吗?》

此外,许多有资格申请EITC减免政策的人可以在我们的义务所得税援助 (VITA) 或老人税务辅导 (TCE) 站点(英文)获得免费的税务帮助。请记住,若要收到EITC减免优惠,您必须报税,即使您不需要报税也是如此。

我们以多种方式推广EITC减免优惠,并教育纳税人。每年1月下旬,我们与几个组织合作举办EITC税优惠政策宣传日,在这个全国性的活动中,我们协调了数百个活动、新闻稿、推特和其他外展和交流产品,帮助纳税人了解EITC优惠政策和如何申请。我们还在一年一度的全国税务论坛和在线网络研讨会上教育报税人,让他们了解各自在尽职调查条例下的责任,这有助于确保影响资格的EITC优惠政策报税信息是正确的。

我们还维护了专门网站,在这个网站上,报税人、雇主、国税局合作伙伴和其他人可以找到专门为他们量身定做的有关EITC和其他可退税额度的信息。欢迎访问(英文)该网站以了解更多信息。

Sunita Lough
国税局服务和执法副局长

 
Deputy Commissioner Sunita Lough

关于作者

Sunita Lough是国税局服务和执法副局长。作为副局长,她领导国税局四个以纳税人为中心的业务部门:工资和投资(W&I)部、大企业和国际部(LB&I)、小企业/自雇人员部(SB/SE)以及免税和政府实体部(TE/GE)。Lough还负责监督国税局刑事调查部门、专业责任办公室、在线服务、退税准备办公室和国税局举报人办公室。

 

收入所得税收抵免--正确做法视频

《近距离观察》

阅读我们所有关于纳税人和税务界感兴趣的各种及时问题的文章(英文)

订阅

国税局提供多种电子新闻订阅,内容涉及各种税务专题。当有新内容发布时,请订阅(英文)以获得电子邮件提醒。

Maximizing the Earned Income Tax Credit

People holding the American flag

The EITC is a vital anti-poverty tool. Here’s how the IRS preserves its integrity.

Get to know the IRS, its people and the issues that affect taxpayers


EITC words written in the background with people standing on coins

By Sunita Lough
CL-21-02, January 13, 2021

In an earlier Closer Look, I discussed the “toolkit” of compliance actions the IRS has, and how we aim to strike a balance between minimizing taxpayer burden and upholding the nation’s tax laws.

One area I mentioned briefly was our compliance actions pertaining to the earned income tax credit (EITC). I thought it might be helpful if I expanded on that topic, because of how important it is to many workers and families.

What is the EITC?

The EITC is a federal tax credit that offers hardworking American workers and families a financial leg up. Nationwide during 2019, 25 million eligible workers and families received about $63 billion in EITC payments. The average payment was $2,476. Many working families receive more money through EITC than they pay in federal income tax.

EITC has been benefitting low- and moderate-income workers for 46 years. While it has been modified several times over the years, the vast majority of the benefits of the program go to families with children.

Who qualifies for the EITC?

Whether you qualify for the EITC depends on several factors, including:

  • Your filing status: You must file your taxes as an individual or married filing jointly.
  • Your qualifying children: “Qualifying children” are children you can claim for the EITC. Taxpayers with qualifying children are generally eligible for a higher EITC payment. The definition of a qualifying child includes more than just the taxpayer’s biological son or daughter – more on that later. Under some circumstances, even taxpayers with no qualifying children are eligible to claim the EITC.
  • Your age: If you have no qualifying children, you must be at least 25, but younger than 65 at the end of the year.
  • Your income source and amount: Income from a number of different sources counts, including wages, salaries, self-employment, and certain disability payments.
  • Your investment income: Your investment income must not exceed a certain amount. For the year 2020, this amount is $3,650. Investment income includes things like capital gains, bank account interest, and dividends.

In order to claim the EITC for tax year 2020, taxpayers must meet these adjusted gross income limits:

 
Filing Status With 0 qualifying children With 1 qualifying child With 2 qualifying children With 3 or more qualifying children
Single, Head of Household, or Widowed $15,820 $41,756 $47,440 $50,954
Married Filing Jointly $21,710 $47,646 $53,330 $56,844

Members of the military are not required to include nontaxable pay and if on extended active duty outside the United States are considered to have their main home in the United States for tax purposes. Clergy must include their housing allowance and disability benefits may be includable depending on the type of benefits received.

Qualifying children

To claim a “child” for the EITC – and therefore be eligible for a larger credit – you must have a certain relationship with the child. The child must be your:

  • Son or daughter
  • Stepchild
  • Legally adopted child
  • Foster child
  • Sibling – step, half or whole
  • A descendant of any of the above

The child must live with you for more than half the year in the United States. The child must be younger than you and under 19 on December 31 of the year for which you are claiming the credit, unless the child is a full-time student, in which case they must be younger than 24. If, however, the qualifying child is permanently and totally disabled, they can be any age.

Preventing improper payments

Sometimes, taxpayers claim the EITC when they are not eligible or claim a credit that is larger than what they are entitled to. This can result in what we call improper payments. There are many reasons why improper payments happen, but one of the most common sources of improper payments occurs when a taxpayer incorrectly claims they have a qualifying child.

We aim to minimize improper payments because they redirect taxpayer money to people who aren’t legally entitled to it. In addition, there are legal and regulatory obligations that require us to curtail such payments. For example, the Improper Payments Elimination and Recovery Improvement Act (IPERIA) requires the IRS to conduct an annual risk assessment to identify programs and activities that may be susceptible to significant improper payments and to report on actions we plan to take to prevent future EITC improper payments. With respect to the EITC, the improper payment rate reported by the Department of the Treasury for Fiscal Year 2019 was 25.3%, totaling $17.4 billion.

To help minimize improper payments, the IRS conducts an audit program for returns claiming EITC. We average approximately 300,000 EITC audits per year out of more than 25 million EITC claims.

There are several constraints that limit the IRS’s ability to verify EITC eligibility without contacting the claimant to request verifying information. As such, to ensure the fairness and integrity of the EITC program, the IRS annually requests verifying information from slightly more than 1% of those claiming EITC each year. Nearly all examinations of lower-income taxpayers were initiated because of claims for the EITC. More than 40% of EITC errors pertain to the eligibility of a qualifying child.

EITC exams are conducted by mail in the least intrusive manner as correspondence exams. We know how important these payments are to families, so we work as quickly as possible to resolve these exams. For context, the IRS audits higher income taxpayers at much higher rates, as I explained in detail in an earlier Closer Look.

Unfortunately, the rules around EITC eligibility can be complex, and bad actors are always looking for ways to cheat the system. There are some legislative measures that could potentially make EITC more user friendly, specifically by:

  • Simplifying eligibility criteria
  • Making more data sources available to the IRS to seamlessly confirm eligibility
  • Regulating return preparers, as EITC claimants are more likely than other filers to use paid return preparers who are not subject to the education requirements or qualifying examinations for tax professionals
  • Providing the IRS with additional flexibility to correct errors or request eligibility documentation outside the examination process

When can EITC claimants expect their refund?

According to the Protecting Americans from Tax Hikes Act – better known as the PATH Act – the IRS cannot issue refunds on tax returns claiming EITC or the Additional Child Tax Credit before mid-February. This allows time for us to better identify fraudulent claims and prevent improper payments. After you submit your return, you can check our Where’s My Refund tool for updated information.

To maximize your chances of receiving a refund as early as possible, follow these tips:

  • Gather all the documents you need to file your return, such as 1099s and W-2s
  • File your return as soon as you receive all necessary documents
  • Double check your tax return to ensure it’s correct
  • File electronically
  • Choose to have funds direct deposited into your bank account

More information on whether you qualify

We estimate that approximately 20% of eligible taxpayers do not claim the EITC. We want everyone who is eligible for the EITC to claim it – after all, it’s your money. To help determine whether you qualify, the IRS has two resources:

  • An interactive online tool called the EITC Assistant. We recently redesigned it to be more user friendly, and it’s now mobile friendly and available in both English and Spanish
  • A one-page questionnaire, Publication 5334, Do I Qualify for EITC?

In addition, many people who are eligible to claim the EITC can get free tax help at one of our Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) or Tax Counseling for the Elderly (TCE) sites. Remember, to receive the EITC, you must file a tax return, even if you wouldn’t otherwise have to file one.

We promote the EITC program and educate taxpayers in many ways. Every year in late January, we partner with several organizations to host EITC Awareness Day, a nationwide campaign in which we coordinate hundreds of events, news releases, tweets, and other outreach and communication products to help taxpayers learn about EITC and how to claim it. We also educate return preparers at the annual Nationwide Tax Forums and online webinars of their responsibilities under due diligence regulations, which helps to ensure EITC tax return information impacting eligibility is correct.

We also maintain a dedicated website where return preparers, employers, IRS partners and others can find information tailored specifically to them about EITC and other refundable credits. Feel free to visit it to learn more.

Sunita Lough
Deputy Commissioner for Services and Enforcement

 
Deputy Commissioner Sunita Lough

About the Author

Sunita Lough is the Deputy Commissioner for Services and Enforcement of the IRS. As the DCSE, she provides leadership to the four taxpayer-focused IRS operating divisions; Wage and Investment (W&I) Large Business and International (LB&I), Small Business/Self Employed (SB/SE) and Tax Exempt and Government Entities (TE/GE). Lough also oversees the IRS Criminal Investigation Division, Office of Professional Responsibility, Online Services, the Return Preparer Office, and the IRS Whistleblower Office.

 

 

Earned Income Tax Credit–Get It Right video

A Closer Look

Read all our posts about a  variety of timely issues of interest to taxpayers and the tax community

Subscribe

The IRS offers several e-News subscriptions on a variety of tax topics. Subscribe to get email alerts when new content is posted.