第 26 卷下的報稅員罰款

註冊會計師、註冊稅務師,以及其他製作納稅申報表的人士在進行不當行為時適用的報稅員罰款。

您如何能瞭解您積欠罰款

我們在向您收取罰款時會向您以郵寄發送通知或信件。該份通知或信件將會向您說明罰款、收取罰款的原因,以及接下來要做什麼。這些通知及信件中將會包含識別號碼。

驗證通知或信件中的資訊是正確的。如果您能夠解決通知或信件中的問題,則可能不會收取罰款。

有關更多資訊,請參閱瞭解您的通知或信件。

我們如何計算罰款

我們以不同的方式計算每個報稅員的罰款。有關更多資訊,請參見下列的罰款和相關規定。

罰款和規定

報稅員罰款詳載於國內稅收法的美國法典第 26 卷(IRC)(英文)。請參閱下列罰款以瞭解更多資訊。

報稅員低報納稅人的義務 —— 國內稅收法 § 6694(英文)

  • 不合理情形類型的低報 —— 國內稅收法 § 6694(a)。罰款為 $1,000 美元或報稅員根據納稅申報表或從退稅中獲得的收入的 50%,以較高者為準。
  • 蓄意或魯莽行為類型的低報 —— 國內稅收法 § 6694(b)。罰款為 $5,000 美元或報稅員根據納稅申報表或從退稅中獲得的收入的 75%,以較高者為準。

 

有關為其他人製作納稅申報表的其他可懲處罰款 —— 國內稅收法 § 6695(英文)

  • 未向納稅人提供副本 —— 國內稅收法 § 6695(a。對於每次未能遵守國內稅收法 § 6107(a)向納稅人提供納稅申報表或申領文件之副本處以 $50 美元罰款。向任一報稅員在 2020 年懲處之罰款不得超過 $26,500 美元。
  • 未在納稅申報表上簽名 —— 國內稅收法 § 6695(b。對於每次未能根據法規要求在納稅申報表或申領文件上簽名處以 $50 美元罰款。向任一報稅員在 2020 年懲處之罰款不得超過 $26,500 美元。
  • 未向納稅人提供識別號碼 —— 國內稅收法 § 6695(c。對於每次未能遵守國內稅收法 § 6109(a)(4)向納稅人提供納稅申報表或申領文件之識別號碼處以 $50 美元罰款。向任一報稅員在 2020 年懲處之罰款不得超過 $26,500 美元。
  • 未能留存副本或清單 —— 國內稅收法 § 6695(d。對於每次未能遵守國內稅收法 § 6107(b)留存納稅申報表或申領文件之副本或清單處以 $50 美元罰款。向任一報稅員在 2020 年懲處之罰款不得超過 $26,500 美元。
  • 未能申報正確的資訊申報表 —— 國內稅收法 § 6695(e。對於每次未能遵守國內稅收法 § 6060 處以 $50 美元罰款。向任一報稅員在 2020 年懲處之罰款不得超過 $26,500 美元。
  • 支票協商 —— 國內稅收法 § 6695(f。對於報稅員在 2020 日曆年度在任何根據第 26 卷向納稅人發出的支票上進行簽注或協商處以 $530 美元罰款。 
  • 未盡力判定特定稅務優惠的資格性 —— 國內稅收法 § 6695(g。此罰款適用於未能判定收入所得抵免額、子女稅務抵免額、其他子女稅務抵免額、其他被撫養人抵免額、美國機會抵免額加上終生學習抵免額資格和/或戶長申報身份的資格性或金額。每份在 2020 年申報的納稅申報表中的每個錯誤皆處以 $530 美元罰款。

 

鼓勵濫用避稅手段等行為 —— 國內稅收法 § 6700(英文)

  • 此罰款適用於組織或促成濫用避稅手段之人士。濫用避稅手段可能是利用合夥企業或其它實體、投資方案或安排,或其它方案或安排。我們會根據個人在交易中的行為,對罰款進行不同的計算。如果做出聲明的人知道或有理由知道與交易的稅收優惠相關的任何重大事項存在虛假或欺詐性,則處以從行為中獲得的總收入的 50% 做為罰款。如果該人提供的總估值多報,則對每個實體或安排(視為個別行為)和每筆參與的交易(如果金額較低,則為該從行為中獲得的收入的 100%)處以 $1,000 美元的罰款。

 

協助及教唆低報稅務義務的罰款 —— 國內稅收法 § 6701(英文)

  • 協助及教唆低報稅務義務的罰款為 $1,000 美元(如果該行為涉及企業的納稅申報表,則為 $10,000 美元)。任何被處以罰款的人士在單一稅務週期或事件中只會針對同一納稅人的相關文件被處以一次罰款。

 

報稅員對資訊的揭露或使用 —— 國內稅收法 § 6713(英文)

  • 每次未經授權地揭露或使用製作的納稅申報表的資訊或與之相關的資訊處以 $250 美元的罰款。向任何人士在單一日曆年度懲處之罰款不得超過 $10,000 美元。如果揭露或使用是與盜用另一納稅人身份有關的犯罪活動,不論此種犯罪是否涉及任何稅務申報,則每次使用或揭露的罰款將增加至 $1,000 美元,每人每日曆年度最多處以 $50,000 美元罰款。此罰款適用於 2019 年 7 月 1 日或之後進行的揭露或使用。

 

欺詐和虛假性聲明 —— 國內稅收法 § 7206(英文)

  • 被處以此處罰的人士被認為是犯下了重罪,一經定罪,將面臨不超過 $100,000 美元的罰款(對於公司則為 $500,000 美元)、監禁最多不超過三年或兩罪併罰(連同起訴費用)。本處罰還適用於與根據國內稅收法 § 7122 或國內稅收法 § 7121 下的結案協議要求進行與減免稅務義務有關的欺詐和虛假性活動。

 

欺詐性納稅申報表、聲明或其他文件 —— 國內稅收法 § 7207(英文)

  • 被處以此處罰的人士被認為是犯下了輕罪,一經定罪,將面臨不超過 $10,000 美元的罰款(對於公司則為 $50,000 美元)、監禁最多不超過一年或兩罪併罰。

 

報稅員對資訊的揭露或使用 —— 國內稅收法 § 7216(英文)

  • 蓄意或魯莽地揭露與納稅申報表相關的資訊,或出於製作或協助製作此類納稅申報表以外之目的使用此類資訊的人士均犯下了輕罪。一經定罪,將面臨不超過 $1,000 美元的罰款、監禁最多不超過 1 年或兩罪併罰(連同起訴費用)。

 

採取行動禁止報稅員的行為 —— 國內稅收法 § 7407(英文)

  • 美國政府可能會在聯邦地方法院提起訴訟,要求獲取制止報稅員從事本國內稅收法章節所禁止的特定行為或禁止某人繼續擔任報稅員的禁令。

 

採取行動禁止與避稅手段和可通報交易相關的特定行為 —— 國內稅收法 § 7408(英文)

  • 美國政府可能會在聯邦地方法院提起訴訟,要求其發出禁制令,以制止某人針對避稅手段和可通報交易進行特定違禁行為,包括任何違反230 號通知(英文) PDF的行為及不行為,或其它涉及國稅局的實踐管理法規。

罰款利息

我們會在罰款上收取利息。

我們開始收取利息的日期依罰款類型而有所不同。利息會增加您的欠款金額,直到您將欠款繳清。有關我們收取的罰款利息的更多資訊,請參閱繳納不足和溢繳的利息(英文)

繳納罰款

向我們全額繳款或繳納您的罰款以避免產生未來罰款以及累積利息。

消除或減少罰款

在您嘗試遵守法律但因為某些特定原因而無法滿足您的稅務義務的情況下,我們也許可以消除或減低部分罰款。部份情況可能包括嚴重的疾病或傷害、家庭成員的死亡,或由於自然災害而丟失您的財務記錄。

有關更多資訊,請參閱罰款減免(英文)

對罰款提出爭議

如果您不同意您積欠的金額,您可以對罰款提出爭議。

請撥打您的通知或信件右上方的免付費電話與我們聯絡,或向我們發送信件,描述我們應該重新審視罰款的原因。請簽名並將信件及支援文件送至您的通知或信件上的地址。

在致電或發送信件時,請備妥下列資訊:

  • 我們向您發送的信件或通知
  • 您希望我方重新審視的罰款
  • 對於每項罰款,請說明您為何認為我們應該消除它

如果您沒有收到通知,請使用電話協助

避免罰款

您可以透過按時且準確地製作納稅申報表並遵守納稅申報表製作和稅務諮詢法律和法規以避免罰款。如果您無法在截止日期前支付罰款,您可以申請付款計劃。

申請付款計劃

如果您無法準時繳納全額罰款,請支付您現在可繳納的金額並申請付款計劃。當您設定付款金額後,您可以減低未來的罰款。

尋求協助

如需在罰款上獲得協助,請撥打通知上的電話號碼。如果您沒有收到通知,請使用電話協助

Tax Preparer Penalties Under Title 26

Tax Preparer Penalties apply to certified public accountants, enrolled agents and others who prepare tax returns when they engage in misconduct.

How You Know You Owe the Penalty

When we charge you a penalty, we send you a notice or letter by mail. The notice or letter will tell you about the penalty, the reason for the charge and what to do next. These notices and letters include an identification number.

Verify the information in your notice or letter is correct. If you can resolve the issue in your notice or letter, a penalty may not apply.

For more information, see Understanding Your Notice or Letter.

How We Calculate the Penalty

We calculate each Preparer Penalty in a different way. For more information, see the penalties and related regulations below.

Penalties and Regulations

The tax preparer penalties are found in Title 26 of the U.S. Code in the Internal Revenue Code (IRC). See the penalties below for more information.

Understatement of Taxpayer's Liability by Tax Return Preparer – IRC § 6694

  • Understatement due to unreasonable positions – IRC § 6694(a). The penalty is the greater of $1,000 or 50% of the income derived by the tax return preparer with respect to the return or claim for refund.
  • Understatement due to willful or reckless conduct – IRC § 6694(b). The penalty is the greater of $5,000 or 75% of the income derived by the tax return preparer with respect to the return or claim for refund.

Other Assessable Penalties with Respect to the Preparation of Tax Returns for Other Persons – IRC § 6695

  • Failure to furnish copy to taxpayer – IRC § 6695(a). The penalty is $50 for each failure to comply with IRC § 6107(a) regarding furnishing a copy of a return or claim to a taxpayer. The maximum penalty imposed on any tax return preparer shall not exceed $26,500 in calendar year 2020.
  • Failure to sign return – IRC § 6695(b). The penalty is $50 for each failure to sign a return or claim for refund as required by regulations. The maximum penalty imposed on any tax return preparer shall not exceed $26,500 in calendar year 2020.
  • Failure to furnish identifying number – IRC § 6695(c). The penalty is $50 for each failure to comply with IRC § 6109(a)(4) regarding furnishing an identifying number on a return or claim. The maximum penalty imposed on any tax return preparer shall not exceed $26,500 in calendar year 2020.
  • Failure to retain copy or list – IRC § 6695(d). The penalty is $50 for each failure to comply with IRC § 6107(b) regarding retaining a copy or list of a return or claim. The maximum penalty imposed on any tax return preparer shall not exceed $26,500 in calendar year 2020.
  • Failure to file correct information returns – IRC § 6695(e). The penalty is $50 for each failure to comply with IRC § 6060. The maximum penalty imposed on any tax return preparer shall not exceed $26,500 in calendar year 2020.
  • Negotiation of check – IRC § 6695(f). The penalty in calendar year 2020 is $530 for a tax return preparer who endorses or negotiates any check made in respect of taxes imposed by Title 26 which is issued to a taxpayer. 
  • Failure to be diligent in determining eligibility for certain tax benefits – IRC § 6695(g). This penalty is for failure to determine eligibility or the amount for earned income credit, child tax credit, additional child tax credit, other dependent credit, American Opportunity credit plus Lifetime Learning credit and/or the head of household filing status. The penalty for returns filed in 2020 is $530 for each failure on each return.

Promoting Abusive Tax Shelters, Etc. – IRC § 6700

  • The penalty applies to persons who organize or sell abusive tax shelters. An abusive tax shelter may be a partnership or other entity, any investment plan or arrangement or any other plan or arrangement. We calculate the penalty differently depending on the person's conduct with respect to the transaction. If the person makes statements, the person knows or has reason to know are false or fraudulent as to any material matter regarding the tax benefits of the transaction the penalty is equal to 50% of the gross income derived from the activity. If the person provides a gross valuation overstatement, the penalty is $1,000 for each entity or arrangement (treated as a separate activity) and participation in each sale (or, if lesser, 100% of the income derived from the activity).

Penalties for Aiding and Abetting Understatement of Tax Liability – IRC § 6701

  • The penalty is $1,000 ($10,000 if the conduct relates to a corporation's tax return) for aiding and abetting in an understatement of a tax liability. Any person subject to the penalty will be penalized only once for documents relating to the same taxpayer for a single tax period or event. 

Disclosure or Use of Information by Preparers of Returns – IRC § 6713

  • The penalty is $250 for each unauthorized disclosure or use of information furnished for, or in connection with, the preparation of a return. The maximum penalty imposed on any person shall not exceed $10,000 in a calendar year. If a disclosure or use is made in connection with a crime relating to the misappropriation of another person's taxpayer identity, whether or not such crime involves any tax filing, the penalty increases to $1,000 for each use or disclosure, with a maximum of $50,000 per person per calendar year. This penalty applies to disclosures or uses that are made on or after July 1, 2019.

Fraud and False Statements – IRC § 7206

  • Persons upon whom this penalty is imposed shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction, face a fine of not more than $100,000 ($500,000 in the case of a corporation), imprisonment of not more than three years, or both (together with the costs of prosecution). This penalty also applies to fraudulent and false activities in connection with offers to compromise a tax liability under IRC § 7122 or a closing agreement under IRC § 7121.

Fraudulent Returns, Statements or Other Documents – IRC § 7207

  • Persons upon whom this penalty is imposed shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, a fine of not more than $10,000 ($50,000 in the case of a corporation), imprisonment of not more than one year, or both.

Disclosure or Use of Information by Preparers of Returns – IRC § 7216

  • Persons who knowingly or recklessly disclosing information furnished in connection with a tax return or using such information for any purpose other than preparing or assisting in the preparation of such return shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. Upon conviction, the penalty includes a fine of not more than $1,000, imprisonment for not more than 1 year or both (together with the costs of prosecution).

Action to Enjoin Tax return Preparers – IRC § 7407

  • The U.S. government may sue in federal district court to obtain an injunction to stop a tax return preparer from engaging in certain conduct proscribed by this IRC section, or to prohibit a person from continuing to act as a tax return preparer altogether.

Actions to Enjoin Specified Conduct Related to Tax Shelters and Reportable Transactions - IRC § 7408

  • The U.S. government may sue in federal district court to obtain an injunction to stop a person from engaging in certain proscribed conduct with respect to tax shelters and reportable transactions, including any action, or failure to take action, which is in violation of Circular 230 PDF and other laws governing practice before the IRS. 

Interest on a Penalty

We charge interest on penalties.

The date from which we begin to charge interest varies by the type of penalty. Interest increases the amount you owe until you pay your balance in full. For more information about the interest we charge on penalties, see Interest on Underpayments and Overpayments.

Pay a Penalty

Send us a payment or pay your penalty in full to stop future penalties and interest from adding up.

Remove or Reduce a Penalty

We may be able to remove or reduce some penalties if you tried to comply with the law, but, because of certain reasons, you weren't able to meet your tax obligations. Some situations may include serious illness or injury, a family member's death or losing your financial records because of a natural disaster.

For more information, see penalty relief.

Dispute a Penalty

If you disagree with the amount you owe, you may dispute the penalty.

Call us at the toll-free number at the top right corner of your notice or letter or write us a letter stating why we should reconsider the penalty. Sign and send the letter along with any supporting documents to the address on your notice or letter.

Have this information when you call or send your letter:

  • The notice or letter we sent you
  • The penalty you want us to reconsider
  • For each penalty, explain why you think we should remove it

If you didn't receive a notice, get telephone assistance.

Avoid a Penalty

You can avoid a penalty by preparing tax returns accurately and on time and complying with return preparation and tax advising laws and regulations. If you can't pay your penalty by the due date, you can apply for a payment plan.

Apply for a Payment Plan

If you can't pay the full amount of your penalties on time, pay what you can now and apply for a payment plan. You may reduce future penalties when you set up a payment plan.

Get Help

For help with a penalty, call the phone number on your notice. If you didn’t receive a notice, use telephone assistance.