瞭解您的表格 1099-K

表格 1099-K (英文)——支付卡和第三方網路交易是一份用於申報特定付款交易以提高自願納稅法律遵從性的 IRS 資訊申報表。如果您在前一個日曆年度中收到款項,您應該在 1 月 31 日之前收到表格 1099-K:

  • 來自所有支付卡交易(例如借記卡、信用卡或儲值卡),以及
  • 第三方支付網絡交易的結算高於最低申報門檻如下:
    • 對於 2022 年之前的日曆年的納稅申報單:
      • 總款項超過 20,000 美元,以及
      • 超過 200 筆此類交易
    • 對於 2021 年以後的日曆年的納稅申報單:
      • 商品或服務的總款項超過 600 美元,以及
      • 任意數量的交易

請注意: 對於 2021 年 3 月 11 日之後進行的交易,《2021年美國救援計劃法案》釐清了由第三方結算組織申報的表格 1099-K (英文)僅適用於為提供商品或服務而由第三方付款網路結算的交易。

我的表格 1099-K 向我報告了什麼?

表格 1099-K (英文)包含了所有應申報的付款交易的總額。您會從每個付款結算實體收到表格 1099-K,您在這些實體中曾收到過應申報的付款交易的結算款項。 應申報的付款交易被定義為支付卡交易或第三方網絡交易。

  • 支付卡交易是指能被接受進行付款的支付卡或與支付卡連結的任何帳號或其他識別資料的任何交易。
  • 第三方網絡交易是指通過第三方支付網絡結算的任何交易,但僅限於此類交易的總金額超過最低申報門檻時。
  • 應申報款項的總金額不包括任何對貸方、現金等價物、折扣金額、費用、退款金額或任何其他金額進行的調整。每筆交易的美元金額是按交易日期判定。

請注意: 最低申報門檻僅適用於通過第三方網絡結算的款項;支付卡交易沒有門檻。

我應該如何處理這些資訊?

您的企業帳本和記錄必須反映您的營業收入,包括可能在表格 1099-K (英文)上申報的任何金額。您必須在所得稅申報單上申報您收到的所有收入。在大部分情況下,您的營業收入會以現金、支票和金融卡/信用卡款項的形式呈現。營業收入通常被稱為所得稅申報單上的總收入。因此,在計算所得稅申報單的總收入時,您應該考慮表格 1099-K 上顯示的金額以及收到的所有其他金額。

此外 --

  • 查看您的支付卡收據記錄和商家對帳單,以確認您的表格 1099-K (英文)上的金額準確無誤
  • 檢查您的記錄,以確保您的總收入是準確的並在所得稅申報單上正確地申報
  • 判斷您是否申報了以所有形式收到的款項的收入,包括現金、支票以及金融卡、信用卡和儲值卡的交易
  • 留存文件以證明您在所得稅申報單上申報的收入和扣除額

這些情況是否有任何適用於您收到的表格 1099-K?

  • 表格 1099-K (英文)不屬於您或為副本
  • 收款人納稅人識別號碼(TIN)不正確
  • 支付卡/第三方網絡交易總額不正確
  • 支付交易次數不正確
  • 商家類別代碼(MCC)未正確描述您的業務

如是,請考量下列事項:

  • 如果表格 1099-K (英文)不屬於您,請聯絡表格 1099-K 中列出的付款結算實體 (PSE),以判斷您收到該文件的原因。姓名和電話號碼應顯示在表格的左下方。如果未顯示 PSE 名稱和編號,請透過表格左上角顯示的電話號碼聯絡申報人。保留與 PSE 進行的任何通訊。 
  • 如果表格上存在錯誤,請向 PSE 索取更正的表格 1099-K。將您的記錄以及與 PSE 的進行的通訊與您收到的任何更正的表格 1099-K 的副本進行保留。

如果表格 1099-K 上顯示的總款項金額不屬於我,我該怎麼辦?

在部份情況中,表格 1099-K (英文)上的總款項金額可能不屬於您。下列範例說明了此類情況並提供了可幫助您判斷如何計算您收到的表格 1099-K 上顯示的總款項金額的資訊。

  • 如果您在表格 1120、1120S 或 1065 上申報您的營業收入,並且您收到了一份屬名給您表格 1099-K:
    • 如果您使用表格 1120、1120S 或 1065 申報您的營業收入,並且您以您個人名義收到一份的表格 1099-K (英文)(顯示了您的社會安全號碼),請聯絡表格 1099-K 上列出的 PSE,請求一份顯示企業的 TIN 的更正的表格 1099-K。此外,請要求 PSE 在所有未來的表格 1099-K 中使用企業的 TIN。在適當的所得稅申報單上通報表格 1099-K 的收入以及任何其他收入來源。保留與 PSE 的所有通訊,以表明此錯誤已得到更正。
  • 如果您與其他人或企業共享您的信用卡終端:
    • 如果您與其他人或企業共享您的信用卡終端,除了您自己的款項外,您的表格 1099-K (英文)將涵蓋與您共享終端的個人或企業的支付卡交易。如果需要,您應該為與您共享卡終端的每個人或企業申報並提供適當的資訊申報單(例如,表格 1099-K 或表格 1099-MISC (英文))。資訊申報單應包括支付卡交易總額以及屬於其他人或企業的任何其他收入。您應保留向共享您的終端機的每個人或企業發出的款項記錄,包括但不限於共享終端機的書面協議和已取消的支票。
  • 如果您在這一年購買或出售了您的企業:
    • 如果您在本年度中購買或出售了您的企業,您的表格 1099-K (英文)可能會包含您購買企業之前或出售企業之後進行的交易的款項。當與信用卡終端連結的納稅識別號和企業名稱未使用新所有者的資訊進行更新時,可能會發生這種情況。您應該向表格上列出的 PSE/申報人 索取更正的表格 1099-K。名字和電話號碼均在表格上。另請保留一份更正後的表格 1099-K 副本和您的記錄,並保留能證明所有權變更時間的購買或銷售協議。
  • 如果您在年內更改了企業實體結構:
    • 如果您在年內更改了企業結構,例如註冊為有限公司或從獨資企業(附表 C)轉變為合夥企業(表格 1065),或以相反的方式更改企業性質,並繼續使用相同的卡片終端,則表格 1099-K (英文)與您的新實體的納稅申報單就不會相符。請務必及時通知將終端與您目前的企業結構連結的商戶收單機構有關名稱和納稅識別號碼修改的事宜。請務必保留文件,為兩個企業實體的正確收入和扣除額提供證明。
  • 如果您允許客戶在使用金融卡購物時收到現金反饋:
    • 如果您允許客戶在使用金融卡購物時獲得現金反饋,您收到的表格 1099-K (英文)會將這些現金反饋金額列為支付卡交易總額的一部分。一般而言,您不會將現金反饋金額作為您的企業總收入的一部分列在您的所得稅申報單中,您也不會將支付給客戶的此類金額作為營業費用申報。您在納稅年度期間保留客戶現金反饋活動的記錄相當重要。 
  • 如果您的企業(或多個企業)有多種收入來源:
    • 如果您的企業(或多個企業)有多種收入來源,您可以在一個納稅申報單的多項行目或多個納稅申報單或附件上申報營業收入。 例如,假設您經營零售業務並有租金收入。您的兩家企業都接受支付卡,但由於您只有一個信用卡終端來處理這些交易,因此您的表格 1099-K (英文)將包含兩家公司的支付卡總收據。您應該使用您的帳簿和記錄來確保在適當的行目或附件上申報所有總收入。在這種情況下,零售業務的總收入應在附件 C 中申報,與租賃活動相關的金額應在附件 E 中的租金收入中申報。

更多資訊

如果您對申報的金額有疑問,請聯絡申報人(請參閱表格 1099-K (英文)的左上角)。如果您對商家或第三方交易網絡有任何疑問,請在表格 1099-K 的左下角查找聯絡資訊。

Understanding Your Form 1099-K

Form 1099-K, Payment Card and Third-Party Network Transactions, is an IRS information return used to report certain payment transactions to improve voluntary tax compliance. You should receive Form 1099-K by January 31 if, in the prior calendar year, you received payments:

  • From all payment card transactions (e.g., debit, credit, or stored-value cards), and
  • In settlement of third-party payment network transactions above the minimum reporting thresholds as follows:
    • For returns for calendar years prior to 2022:
      • Gross payments that exceed $20,000, AND
      • More than 200 such transactions
    • For returns for calendar years after 2021:
      • Gross payments for goods or services that exceed $600, AND
      • Any number of transactions

The American Rescue Plan of 2021 changed the reporting threshold for third-party settlement organizations, including payment apps and online third-party settlement organizations. The new threshold requires reporting of transactions in excess of $600 per year; changed from the previous threshold of an excess of 200 transactions per year and an excess of $20,000. TPSOs are required to report payments for goods and services. The law is not intended to track personal transactions such as sharing the cost of a car ride or meal, birthday or holiday gifts, or paying a family member for a household bill.

NOTE: On Dec. 23, 2022, the IRS announced that calendar year 2022 will be treated as a transition year for the reduced reporting threshold of $600. For calendar year 2022, third-party settlement organizations who issue Forms 1099-K are only required to report transactions where gross payments exceed $20,000 and there are more than 200 transactions.

Even though the Form 1099-K reduced reporting requirement for third-party settlement organizations was delayed, some individuals may still receive a Form 1099-K who have not received one in the past. Some individuals may receive a Form 1099-K for the sale of personal items or in situations where they received a Form 1099-K in error (i.e. for transactions between friends and family, or expense sharing). IRS is updating guidance to direct taxpayers to report these scenarios on the Form 1040, Schedule 1, for tax year 2022. See the section titled “Information for personal income” for additional information.

What is included on the Form 1099-K?

Whether you own a business, are self-employed, work in the gig economy or are selling personal items, Form 1099-K includes the gross amount of all payment transactions. You may receive a Form 1099-K from each payment settlement entity from which you received payments in settlement of reportable payment transactions. A reportable payment transaction is defined as a payment card transaction or a third-party network transaction. A third party network transactions may include a payment through a payment app.

  • Payment card transaction means any transaction in which a payment card, or any account number or other identifying data associated with a payment card, is accepted as payment.
  • Third party network transaction means any transaction that is settled through a third-party payment network, but only after the total amount of such transactions exceeds the minimum reporting thresholds.

The gross amount of a reportable payment does not include any adjustments for credits, cash equivalents, discount amounts, fees, refunded amounts, or any other amounts. The dollar amount of each transaction is determined on the date of the transaction.

NOTE: The minimum reporting thresholds for tax years after 2021 apply only to payments settled through a third-party payment network; there is no threshold for payment card transactions.

Information for personal income

If you sold goods or provided services and used a third-party settlement organization, you may receive a Form 1099-K. If you received income for services you provided, including payments received through gig economy work, see Information for businesses and those who are self-employed below.

There are no changes to what counts as income or how your tax is calculated, including income from the sale of personal assets. You must report all your income on your tax return unless it’s excluded by law.

What should I do if I received a 1099-K in error or for a personal item I sold?

If you receive a Form 1099-K for the sale of personal items or received a Form 1099-K in error, follow the chart below for reporting instructions.

Scenario Action(s) to take
Personal items sold at a loss

If you receive a Form 1099-K for a personal item sold at a loss, report the information on Form 1040, Schedule 1, Additional Income and Adjustments to Income with offsetting transactions. For example, if you receive a Form 1099-K for selling your couch online for $700 you will report:

  • Part I – Line 8z – Other Income – Form 1099-K Personal Item Sold at a Loss $700
  • Part II – Line 24z – Other Adjustments - Form 1099-K Personal Item Sold at a Loss $700
The net effect of these two adjustments on adjusted gross income would be $0.
Personal item sold at a gain If you sold an item you owned for personal use, such as a car, refrigerator, furniture, stereo, jewelry, or silverware, etc., at a gain, your gain is taxable as a capital gain. Report your gain as explained in the Instructions for Schedule D (Form 1040).For personal items sold at a loss, follow the instructions for Personal items sold at a loss.
Mix of personal items sold – some at a gain and others with a loss

Your gains and losses are to be reported separately and gains for assets cannot be offset by losses from the sale of personal assets.

If you sold an item you owned for personal use at a gain, see Personal items sold at a gain for information on how to report.

For personal items sold at a loss, follow the instructions for Personal items sold at a loss for information on how to report.

Form 1099-K received in error

If you received a Form 1099-K by mistake or if the form you received has incorrect information, contact the issuer of the Form 1099-K immediately. The issuer’s name appears in the upper left corner on the form along with their phone number.

If you can’t get a corrected Form 1099-K, report as follows:

Same as personal assets sold at a loss except changing the description as follows:

  • Part I – Line 8z – Other Income – Form 1099-K Received in Error
  • Part II – Line 24z – Other Adjustments - Form 1099-K Received in Error

Information for businesses and those who are self-employed

What should I do with this information?

If you own a business or are self-employed, including those who work in the gig economy, it is important that your business books and records reflect your business income, including any amounts that may be reported on Form 1099-K. You must report on your income tax return all income you receive. In most cases, your business, including self-employment income will be in the form of cash, checks, and debit/credit card payments. This income is generally referred to as gross receipts on income tax returns. Therefore, you should consider the amounts shown on Form 1099-K, along with all other amounts received, when calculating gross receipts for your income tax return.

Forms 1099-K can report many types of transactions that should be considered when filing. In some instances, taxpayers may receive a Form 1099-K for the sale of personal assets or for transactions that are not required to be reported.  To help with filing requirements, the IRS is providing guidance for these specific scenarios for the 2022 tax year. See section Information for personal income for more information.

How do I check my records with what is reported on the Form 1099-K?

  • Check your payment card receipt records and merchant statements to confirm that the amount on your Form 1099-K is accurate
  • Review your records to ensure your gross receipts are accurate and reported correctly on your income tax return
  • Determine whether you have reported income from all forms of payment received, including cash, checks, and debit, credit, and stored-value card transactions
  • Maintain documentation to support both the income and deductions you report on your income tax return

Do any of these statements apply to the Form(s) 1099-K you received?

  • The Form 1099-K does not belong to you or is a duplicate
  • The payee Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) is incorrect
  • The gross amount of payment card/third party network transactions is incorrect
  • The number of payment transactions is incorrect
  • The Merchant Category Code (MCC) does not correctly describe your business

If so, consider the following:

  • If the Form 1099-K does not belong to you, contact the Payment Settlement Entity (PSE) listed on the Form 1099-K to try determining why you received the document. The name and telephone number should be shown in the lower-left part on the form. If a PSE name and number are not shown, contact the Filer at the number shown in the upper-left corner on the form. Retain any correspondence with the PSE. 
  • If there is an error on the form, request a corrected Form 1099-K from the PSE. Keep a copy of any corrected Form 1099-K you receive with your records as well as any correspondence with the PSE.

What should I do when the total gross payment amount shown on Form 1099-K does not belong to me?

In some cases, the total gross payment amount on Form 1099-K may not belong to you. The following examples illustrate such situations and provide information that may help you determine how to account for the amount of gross payments shown on the Form 1099-K you received.

 
Scenario Action(s) to take
Report business income on Form 1120, 1120S or 1065 and you receive a Form 1099-K in your name If you report your business income on a Form 1120, 1120S or 1065 and you receive a Form 1099-K in your name as an individual (showing your social security number), contact the PSE listed on the Form 1099-K to request a corrected Form 1099-K showing the business's TIN. In addition, request that the PSE use the business's TIN on all future Forms 1099-K. Report the income from the Form 1099-K along with any other sources of income on the appropriate income tax return. Retain all correspondence with the PSE to show that this error was corrected.
Share your credit card terminal with another person or business: If you shared your credit card terminal with another person or business, your Form 1099-K will include payment card transactions belonging to the person or business that shared your terminal, in addition to your own payments. Where required, you should file and furnish the appropriate information return (e.g., Form 1099-K or Form 1099-MISC) for each person or business with whom you shared a card terminal. The information return should include the total payment card transaction amount in addition to any other income belonging to the other person or business. You should retain records of payments issued to each person or business sharing your terminal, including but not limited to shared terminal written agreements and cancelled checks.
Bought or sold your business during the year If you bought or sold your business during the year, your Form 1099-K may include payments for transactions made before you purchased or after you sold the business. This can occur when the tax identification number and business name associated with a credit card terminal are not updated with the new owner's information. You should request a corrected Form 1099-K from the PSE/Filer listed on the form. Its name and telephone number are on the form. Also keep a copy of corrected Form(s) 1099-K with your records and retain the purchase or sales agreement that substantiates the timing of the ownership change.
Changed your business entity structure during the year If you changed your business structure during the year, such as incorporating or converting from a sole-proprietorship (Schedule C) to a partnership (Form 1065), or vice versa, and continued using the same card terminal, the amount shown on the Form 1099-K will not correspond with your new entity's tax return. Be sure to timely notify your merchant acquirer of any change to the name and tax identification number that links the terminal to your current business structure. Be sure to maintain documentation to support the correct income and deductions for both business entities.
Allow your customers to receive cash back when they use their debit cards for purchases If you allow your customers to receive cash back when they use their debit cards for purchases, the Form 1099-K you receive will include those cash back amounts as part of the gross amount of payment card transactions. Generally, you would not include cash back amounts as part of your business's gross receipts on your income tax return, nor would you claim such amount paid to a customer as a business expense. It is important that you maintain records of customer cash back activity over the course of your tax year. 
Business (or businesses) has multiple sources of income If your business (or businesses) has multiple sources of income, you may report business income on more than one line of a return or on multiple returns or schedules. For example, assume you operate a retail business and have rental income. You accept payment cards for both businesses, but because you have only one credit card terminal to process these transactions, your Form 1099-K will include gross payment card receipts for both businesses. You should use your books and records to ensure that all gross receipts are reported on the appropriate line or schedule. In this case, the gross receipts from the retail business should be reported on Schedule C, and the amounts related to the rental activity included in the rental income reported on the Schedule E.
Form 1099-K is incorrect If you have questions about the amount reported, contact the filer (see the upper left corner of Form 1099-K). If you have questions about the merchant or third-party transaction network, find the contact in the lower left corner of Form 1099-K.