有關申請免稅的常見問題

組織領導層可以參加 10 堂線上課程中小型免稅組織研討會 (英文),詳細瞭解有關這些主題以及免稅組織的福利、限制及預期。


非營利和免稅身份之間有何差別?

非營利身份是一種州法概念。非營利身份可能使組織有資格獲得某些福利,如免除州銷售稅、財產稅和所得稅。儘管大多數聯邦免稅組織都是非營利組織,但在州一級建立非營利組織並不會自動授予該組織免徵聯邦所得稅的權利。要符合免除聯邦所得稅的資格,組織必須符合國稅法規 (IRC) 中所載的要求。更多資訊,請參閱免稅組織類型 (英文)第 557 號出版物 (英文) PDF

組織如何具備免稅身份?

要獲得免除聯邦所得稅的認可,大多數組織必須申請免稅認可 (英文)。對於第 501(c)(3) 條的組織,該法律僅對此要求提供有限例外 (英文)。申請免稅認可會促成國稅局 (IRS) 正式認可組織的身份,因此可能更可取。

如何獲得免稅身份的申請表?

申請免稅的大多數組織必須使用特定的申請表格。國稅局 (IRS) 目前使用的四份表格為:

第 557 號出版物 中載明了貴組織需要提交的申請。請注意,對於某些類型的組織,不指定申請表格。請參閱免稅組織表格和說明,以獲得表格 1024-A 和 1024 的副本。您還可致電 800-TAX-FORM (800-829-3676) 索取這些表格。您可在以下網址預覽表格 1023 和 1023-EZ 的副本:www.pay.gov (英文)

申請免稅是否需要繳費?

是的,決定信的一切請求 (包括免稅申請) 都需要繳納用戶費用。欲知完整資訊,請參閱用戶費用 (英文)

我在何處提交免稅申請?

您可在 www.pay.gov (英文) 以電子方式提交填妥的表格 1023 或 1023-EZ 免稅申請

將填妥的免稅申請 (除了表格 1023 或 1023-EZ) 寄至申請表格指示中所述的地址:

Internal Revenue Service
P.O. Box 12192
Covington, KY 41012-0192

特快專遞或遞送服務地址:

Internal Revenue Service
Mail Stop 31A: Team 105
7940 Kentucky Drive
Florence, KY 41042

處理免稅申請需要多長時間?

將盡快處理申請。但是,該過程可能會延遲,其原因包括從申請中的簡單錯誤到有關組織免稅資格的問題。請參閱處理申請出現延遲的十大常見原因 (英文)。要找到目前 申請的狀態,請參閱 我的申請在哪裡?(英文)

我們可以做什麼來確保盡快處理我的申請?

完全回答所有問題並提交所有必需的項目,將 確保負責審核您的申請的代理人能夠盡快處理。另外,檢閱縮短免稅申請流程的十大提示常見問題 (英文)

我的免稅身份申請可以加急嗎?

一般來說,申請是按國稅局 (IRS) 收到的順序處理 (英文)。但有時,國稅局 (IRS) 將不按常規順序來處理申請。但是,對於授予加急處理,先於其他人處理個案必須有令人信服的理由令人信服的理由如下:

  • 未決授予,其中未能獲得授予將對組織繼續營運的能力產生不利影響。
  • 新建組織,為突發事件受害者提供災難寬減。
  • 國稅局 (IRS) 錯誤導致簽發決定信出現不當延誤。

    對於未決授予,以下特定資訊將幫助支援加急處理的請求:

  • 承諾提供授予或資產的個人或組織的名稱,
  • 授予金額或資產價值,
  • 授予被取消或永久轉到另一個組織的日期,
  • 組織未獲得授予/資產時對組織營運的影響,及
  • 主要人員或授權代表的簽名。

加急處理請求必須以書面形式提出並且充分說明令人信服的理由。授予加急處理是由國稅局 (IRS) 決定。

組織不得請求根據國稅法規 (IRC) 第 501(c)(3) 條加急處理表格 1023-EZ,簡化申請免稅認可。

更多資訊,請參閱加急處理申請 (英文)

如果在提交申請後目的或計劃發生變化怎麼辦?

如果組織的組織文件、目的或計劃在國稅局 (IRS) 考慮申請時發生變化,您應該以書面形式將該變化報告給處理申請的辦公室。如果您不知道處理免稅申請的辦公室,請聯絡免稅組織客戶帳戶服務 (英文)

由於慈善機構的結構或活動的重大變化可能影響其免稅或公共慈善機構身份,組織應將此類變化報告給國稅局 (IRS) 免稅組織部門。請參閱報告變化的程序 (英文),瞭解完整的討論。

免稅申請是否需要向公眾披露?

免稅申請一旦被最終批准 (英文)拒絕 (英文),就需要向公眾披露。

我的組織是否需要免稅號碼?

不需要。與某些州向組織簽發號碼以表明這些組織免繳州工商稅不同,國稅局 (IRS) 並未專門為免稅組織簽發號碼。當國稅局 (IRS) 簽發僱主身份識別號碼 (EIN) 時,這些只是唯一識別碼,類似於個人的社會安全號碼。申請和接受僱主身份識別號碼 (EIN) 並不能說明該組織的報稅身份;但是,貴組織需要僱主身份識別號碼 (EIN) 來申請免稅。

我如何為我的組織獲得僱主身份識別號碼 (EIN)?

您可線上申請或參閱獲得僱主身份識別號碼 (EIN) (英文)

其公司章程在被州進行行政撤銷或暫停後恢復的組織,是否必須 提交新的免稅申請?

不需要。如果公司章程在行政暫停或撤銷後被州恢復,則無需公司重新申請即可恢復其免稅身份。組織必須提交來自州的有關其章程已恢復的證據,同時指出恢復的生效日期。此外,組織還應提供證據,證明其在公司身份被行政暫停或撤銷期間符合年度報稅表的任何提交要求。

但是,如果組織的免稅身份已經因未提交年度報稅表而被自動撤銷,除非提交新的免稅申請,否則不能恢復其免稅身份,即使州恢復其公司身份也不例外。

政府實體是否需要申請免稅?

大多數州和地方政府實體不需要繳納聯邦所得稅。儘管如此,對於非稅務原因,政府實體有時需要提供免稅號碼決定信,證明其作為免稅組織的身份。 但是,州和地方政府不需要申請此免稅身份。如確認您的免稅身份 (英文)中討論的,國稅局 (IRS) 將發出一封信,描述政府實體的報稅身份。大多數組織和個人將接受這封信,作為他們需要的證明。無需申請,這封信也不產生任何 費用。

更多資訊

IRS Logo
Print - Click this link to Print this page

Frequently Asked Questions About Applying for Tax Exemption


What is the difference between nonprofit and tax-exempt status?

Nonprofit status is a state law concept. Nonprofit status may make an organization eligible for certain benefits, such as state sales, property and income tax exemptions. Although most federal tax-exempt organizations are nonprofit organizations, organizing as a nonprofit organization at the state level does not automatically grant the organization exemption from federal income tax. To qualify as exempt from federal income tax, an organization must meet requirements set forth in the Internal Revenue Code. See Types of Tax-Exempt Organizations or Publication 557 for more information.


How does an organization become tax-exempt?

To be recognized as exempt from federal income taxation, most organizations are required to apply for recognition of exemption. For section 501(c)(3) organizations, the law provides only limited exceptions to this requirement. Applying for recognition of exemption results in formal IRS recognition of an organization’s status, and may be preferable for that reason.


How do I obtain an application for tax-exempt status?

Most organizations applying for exemption must use specific application forms. Two forms currently used by the IRS are Form 1023, Application for Recognition of Exemption (for charitable organizations) (instructions) and Form 1024, Application for Recognition of Exemption (for other tax-exempt organizations). The application your organization is required to submit is specified in Publication 557.  Note that for some types of organizations no application form is specified. See Exempt Organization Forms and Instructions for copies for Form 1023 and 1024. You may also request these forms by calling 1-800-TAX-FORM (1-800-829-3676). 


Is there a fee for applying for exemption?

Yes, user fees apply to all requests for determination letters, including exemption applications. See User Fees for complete information.


Where do I send my exemption application?

Send your completed exemption application to the address stated in the instructions to the application form:

Internal Revenue Service
P.O. Box 12192
Covington, KY  41012-0192

Express mail or a delivery service address:

Internal Revenue Service
201 West Rivercenter Blvd.
Attn: Extracting Stop 312
Covington, KY 41011

How long does it take to process an application for exemption?

Applications are processed as quickly as possible. The process can be delayed, however, for reasons ranging from simple errors on the application to issues concerning the qualification of the organization for exemption. See the Top Ten Reasons for Delay in Processing Applications. To find the status of a current application, see Where Is My Exemption Application?


Is there anything I can do to help ensure that my application is processed as quickly as possible?

Answering all questions completely and submitting all required items will ensure agents reviewing your application are able to process it as quickly as possible. Completing the procedural checklist on the last pages of Form 1023 or Form 1024 will help you submit a complete and error-free application. 


Can my application for tax-exempt status be expedited?

In general, applications are processed in the order received by the IRS. Sometimes, however, the IRS will work an application outside the regular order. For expedited processing to be granted, however, there must be a compelling reason to process the case ahead of others. Compelling reasons include the following:

  • A pending grant, where failure to secure the grant will have an adverse impact on the organization's ability to continue operating.
  • A newly created organization providing disaster relief to victims of emergencies.
  • IRS errors have caused undue delays in issuing a determination letter.

For a pending grant, the following specific information would help support a request for expedited processing:

  • The name of the person or organization committed to giving the grant or asset,
  • The amount of the grant or the value of the asset,
  • The date the grant will be forfeited or permanently redirected to another organization,
  • The impact on the organization's operations if it does not receive the grant/asset, and
  • The signature of a principal officer or authorized representative.

A request for expedited processing must be made in writing and must fully explain the compelling reason.  Granting expedited processing is at the discretion of the IRS. 

An organization may not request expedited handling of a Form 1023-EZ, Streamlined Application for Recognition of Exemption Under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

See Expedited Application Processing for more information.


What if purposes or programs change after an application is submitted?

If the organization’s organizing documents, purposes, or programs change while the IRS is considering an application, you should report the change in writing to the office processing your application.  If you do not know the office that is processing your exemption application, contact Exempt Organizations Customer Account Services.

Because material changes in a charity's structure or activities may affect its tax-exempt or public charity status, organizations should report such changes to the IRS Exempt Organizations Division. See procedures for reporting changes for a complete discussion.


Is an exemption application subject to public disclosure?

An exemption application is subject to public disclosure once it has been finally approved or denied.


Do I need a tax-exempt number for my organization?

No.  Unlike some states that issue numbers to organizations to indicate that these organizations are exempt from state sales taxes, the IRS does not issue numbers specifically for exempt organizations.  While the IRS does issue Employer Identification Numbers (EINs), these are merely a unique identifier, similar to a Social Security number for an individual.  Applying for and receiving an EIN says nothing about the organization's tax status; however, your organization needs an EIN to apply for tax exemption.


How do I obtain an Employer Identification Number for my organization?

You can apply online, or see obtaining an Employer Identification Number.


Must an organization whose corporate charter is reinstated after being administratively revoked or suspended by the state submit a new exemption application?

No.  If a corporation is reinstated by the state after an administrative suspension or dissolution of its corporate charter, its exempt status may be reinstated without the need for the corporation to reapply.  The organization must submit evidence from the state that its charter has been reinstated, indicating the effective date of reinstatement.  In addition, the organization should provide evidence that it has complied with any filing requirement for annual returns during the period during which its corporate status was administratively suspended or dissolved.

If, however, an organization's exempt status has been automatically revoked for failing to file annual returns, exempt status cannot be reinstated unless it submits a new exemption application, even if the state reinstates its corporate status.


Does a government entity need to apply for exemption?

Most state and local government entities are not required to pay federal income tax. For non-tax reasons, though, government entities are sometimes asked to provide a tax-exempt number or determination letter to prove their status as a tax-exempt organization.  State and local governments are not required to apply for this exempt status, however.  As discussed in Affirmation of Your Tax-Exempt Status, the IRS will issue a letter describing the tax status of government entities.  Most organizations and individuals will accept this letter as the substantiation that they need.  No application is required, and no fee is associated with this letter.


Additional information

 

Page Last Reviewed or Updated: 26-Jan-2017