主題752 - W-2和W-3表的申報

W-2表

雇主必須填寫,以電子或郵寄方式向社會安全局(Social Security Administration (英文), SSA)申報,以及提供W-2表【工資年結表】(Form W-2 , Wage and Tax Statement (英文))給他們的員工,列出向每一位員工支付的全年工資及預扣稅金。正確而且準時填寫W-2表是非常重要的,因為員工的社會安全保險和醫療保險的福利是基於表格 W-2 的資訊而計算的。

W-3表

需要申報W-2表的任何人也必須申報W-3表【工資年結表傳送書】(Form W-3, Transmittal of Wage and Tax Statements (英文)),以此遞交W-2表的A聯給社會安全局。在相關的雇用稅務表格上(年度中的941表 (Form 941 (英文)),943表(Form 943 (英文)),944表(Form 944 (英文)) 或1040表副表H(Form 1040, Schedule HPDF))的申報總金額應該和W-3表上申報的金額相同。如果您有W-2表或W-3表上有關某個框格的問題,請參考表格說明,說明中提供了就每一個框格的詳細解釋。有關W-2表A聯和W-3表的郵寄地址也列在W-2以及W-3的表格說明(Form W-2 and W-3 General Instructions (英文)PDF)中。您索取W-2表時,記得也要索取W-3表。

何時及何地申報

正式的W-2表是多聯的一套表格。此六聯單的表格提供使用者可能需要的各個W-2表(A聯,第1聯,B聯,C聯,第2聯,及D聯)。您必須將W-2表上的A聯單與傳送書W-3表【工資年結表的傳送書】(Form W-3, Transmittal of Wage and Tax Statements (英文))在下一年度的1月底前以郵件或電子方式送交社會安全局。如果您已經結束了您的生意,則有適用的特定截止日期。您送至社會安全局的W-3表以及W-2表的A聯必須是可掃描的格式版本,並且可線上索取或致電800-TAX-FORM (800-829-3676)索取。有關更多資訊,請參考W-2及W-3 表格一般說明(Form W-2 and W-3 General Instructions (英文)PDF)。如適用,請將第1聯送交您的州,市政府或當地的稅務部門。請聯絡各州,市政府或當地稅務部門取得相關規定及傳送文件的資訊。雇主聯-D聯應保存四年。

您必須將W-2表的BC及第2聯在2022年的1月31日前交給您的員工。如果表格的地址正確而且在截止日期或之前寄出,您就符合提供要求。如果一名員工在年底前離職,您可以在2022的年的1月31日前任何時間將W-2表交給您的前任員工,但送交日不能遲於2022年的1月31日。如果您的員工向您索取W-2表,您必須在索取表格的30天內,或者在最後一次工資支付的30天內將BC聯及第2聯交給員工。

準備W-2表

  • 請用黑色墨水打字輸入所有的條目,如可能,請用12點【Courier】字體。條目的資料是由機器讀取。手寫,草寫或斜體字體和用黑色以外的輸入的條目是無法被讀取的。
  • 不可使用美元($)的符號或逗點 (00000.00),但是使用小數點。顯示小數點後第二位(或放入0字表示沒有角或分的零頭)。
  • 不可做任何的塗改,劃掉,或用修正液更改。A聯絕不能有任何錯誤。如果您有錯,請在「作廢(Void)」框格裡填上「X」,再重新使用另一份W-2表。不要在下一份W-2表上寫上「已更正(corrected)」。
  • 因為W-2表在單頁上列印了兩種表格, 請將整份A聯頁(此頁用紅色墨水列印)寄送給社會安全局(SSA),即使中間有一份表格是空白或已經作廢。不可將此頁切開或折疊。不可將W-2表釘在一起,或與W-3釘在一起。
  • 如果有不適用的框格,請留空白。

作更正

如果在將W-2寄出給社會安全局後,在員工的W-2表上發現錯誤,請補交一份W-2C表【糾正工資及稅務說明】。您在任何時間向社會安全局申報W-2C表(
Form W-2c, Corrected Wage and Tax Statement (英文)) 時,應提交 W-3C表【糾正工資及稅務說明傳送書】(Form W-3c, Transmittal of Corrected Wage and Tax Statements (英文)PDF)。更多資訊請參考W-2表和W-3表一般說明(Form W-2 and W-3 General Instructions (英文)PDF),瞭解有關 根據2020-65號通知2020年遞延的雇員社會保障稅和RRTA稅款的報告資訊(英文)

電子要求

雇主申報250份以上的W-2表必須進行電子報稅,除非已取得國稅局的豁免。我們鼓勵所有的雇主使用電子申報W-2表。截止日期為1月31日。有關電子報稅更多的資訊,請參考W-2表和W-3表一般說明以及主題801(Topic 801),主題802(Topic 802) 和主題803(Topic 803)。您可以向社會安全局的SSA在線業務服務Business Services Online (BSO) (英文)取得更多有關電子申報W-2表的資訊,或是聯繫社會安全局(SSA)的員工申報處1-800-772-6270(TTY 800-325-0778)取得電子報稅規格。

2019年7月1日頒布的《2019年納稅人優先法案》(Pub. L. 116-25)授權財政部和國稅局發佈法規,減少2021納稅年度申報表的250份申報表要求。如果這些規定已發佈並適用於需要在2022年提交的2021納稅年度申報表,國稅局將在 IRS.gov/form1099 (英文)上發佈文章,解釋這一變化。然而,在頒布法規之前,這個數位仍然是250。

更多資訊

Topic Number 752 - Filing Forms W-2 and W-3

Form W-2

Employers must complete, file electronically or by mail with the Social Security Administration (SSA), and furnish to their employees Form W-2.pdf, Wage and Tax Statement, showing the wages paid and taxes withheld for the year for each employee. Because employees' social security and Medicare benefits are computed based on information on Form W-2, it's very important to prepare Form W-2 correctly and timely.

Form W-3

Anyone required to file Form W-2 must also file Form W-3.pdf, Transmittal of Wage and Tax Statements, to transmit Copy A of Form W-2 to the SSA. The totals for amounts reported on related employment tax forms (Form 941.pdf, Form 943.pdf, Form 944.pdf, or Form 1040, Schedule H.pdf, for the year) should agree with the amounts reported on Form W-3. If you have questions about a particular box on Forms W-2 or W-3, refer to the Form W-2 and W-3 General Instructions, which give a detailed explanation of each box. The address for mailing Copy A of the Form W-2 and Form W-3 is also listed in the Form W-2 and W-3 General Instructions. Be sure to order Form W-3 when you order Forms W-2.

Where and When to File

The official Form W-2 is available as a multi-copy form packet. The form packet provides all six copies that the user may need for each Form W-2 (Copy A, Copy 1, Copy B, Copy C, Copy 2, and Copy D). You must submit by mail or electronically Copy A of Form(s) W-2 to the SSA with the transmittal Form W-3.pdf, Transmittal of Wage and Tax Statements, by the last day of January. Special due dates apply if you have terminated your business. The Form W-3 and Copy A of each Form W-2 that you send to the SSA must be on a scan-form version and can be ordered online or by calling 800-TAX-FORM (800-829-3676). Refer to the Form W-2 and W-3 General Instructions for additional information. Send Copy 1, if applicable, to your state, city, or local tax department. Contact that state, city, or local tax department for requirements and transmittal information. You should retain the employer copy, Copy D, for 4 years.

You must furnish Copies B, C, and 2 of Form W-2 to your employees by January 31, 2018. You'll meet the furnish requirement if the form is properly addressed and mailed on or before the due date. If an employee stops working for you before the end of the year, you may give your former employee Form W-2 anytime prior to January 31, 2018, but no later than January 31, 2018. If your employee asks for the Form W-2, you must give your employee Copies B, C, and 2 within 30 days of the request or within 30 days of the final wage payment, whichever is later.

Preparing Form W-2

  • Type all entries using black ink and, if possible, in a 12-point Courier font. Entries are read by machine. Handwritten, script, or italicized fonts and entries made in other than black ink can't be read.
  • Make all dollar entries without the dollar sign and comma but with the decimal point (00000.00). Show the cents portion or use zeroes for no cents.
  • Don't make any erasures, cross-outs, or whiteouts. Copy A must be error free. If you make an error, put an "X" in the "Void" box, use the next Form W-2, and start again. Don't write "corrected" on the next Form W-2.
  • Because Form W-2 is printed with two forms on a single page, send in the whole Copy A page (the page printed with red ink) to the SSA even if one form is blank or void. Don't cut or fold the page. Don't staple Forms W-2 to each other or to Form W-3.
  • If a box doesn't apply, leave it blank.

 

Making Corrections

If you discover an error on an employee's Form W-2 after sending it to the SSA, submit a Form W-2c.pdf, Corrected Wage and Tax Statement. File Form W-3c.pdf, Transmittal of Corrected Wage and Tax Statements, whenever you file a Form W-2c with the SSA. Refer to the Form W-2 and W-3 General Instructions for additional information.

Electronic Requirement

Employers filing 250 or more Forms W-2 must file electronically unless granted a waiver by the IRS. All employers are encouraged to file Forms W-2 electronically. The due date is January 31. For more information on electronic filing, refer to the Form W-2 and W-3 General Instructions and to Topic No. 801, Topic No. 802, and Topic No. 803. You may obtain additional information on electronic filing of Forms W-2 from the SSA's Business Services Online (BSO) or by contacting the SSA's Employee Reporting Branch at 800-772-6270 (TTY 800-325-0778).

Additional Information