独立经营的承包人的表格和相关税款

W-9 表格

如果您确定您付款的人是独立经营的承包人,那么第一步是让承包人填写 W-9 表格,索取纳税人识别号码和证明。此表格可用于索取工人的正确姓名和纳税人识别号码 (TIN)W-9 表应在您的档案中保存四年,以备将来工人或 IRS 提出任何问题时参考。

1099-NEC 表格

注意:从 2020 纳税年度开始,您必须使用 1099-NEC 表格(非雇员补偿)来报告先前在1099-MISC 表格的方框 7 中报告的非雇员补偿 (NEC) 的付款。对那些1099-NEC 表格的申报人/签发人的单独说明可在 2020 年1099-MISC 和 1099-NEC 表格说明中找到。

付款人使用1099-NEC 表格 (英文) 来报告在贸易或业务过程中为获得服务而向他人支付的款项。

如果您向并非您雇员的人(例如分包商、律师或会计师)支付了600 美元或更多费用以获取当年提供的服务,则您需要填写 1099-NEC 表格,并且必须在付款后的次年 1 月 31 日之前将 1099-NEC 表的副本提供给独立经营的承包人。您还必须在 1 月 31 日前将此表格的副本发送给 IRS

另请注意,独立经营的承包人可能有自己的员工,也可能雇用其他独立经营的承包人(分包商)。在任何一种情况下,他们都应该了解他们对这些工人的税务责任,包括申报和报告要求。

在某些情况下,不需要 1099-NEC 表格。这些例外情况在1099-MISC 和 1099-NEC 表格的说明 (英文) PDF 中列出。

以电子方式提交

电子方式提交税务资料申报表(FIRE)(英文) 系统为金融机构和其他组织申报提交税务资料申报表 1042-S、1098、1099、5498、8027 或 W-2G表而设计。税务资料申报表可以通过电子方式提交,但是,您必须拥有能够按照1220 刊物的要求以正确格式生成文件的软件。FIRE 不提供电子填写表的选项。

Forms and Associated Taxes for Independent Contractors

 

Form W-9

If you’ve made the determination that the person you’re paying is an independent contractor, the first step is to have the contractor complete Form W-9, Request for Taxpayer Identification Number and Certification. This form can be used to request the correct name and Taxpayer Identification Number, or TIN, of the worker. The W-9 should be kept in your files for four years for future reference in case of any questions from the worker or the IRS.

Form 1099-NEC

Note: Beginning with Tax Year 2020, you must use Form 1099-NEC, Nonemployee Compensation, to report payments of nonemployee compensation (NEC) previously reported in box 7 on Form 1099-MISC. The separate instructions for filers/issuers for Form 1099-NEC are available in the 2020 Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC.

Form 1099-NEC is used by payers to report payments made in the course of a trade or business to others for services.

If you paid someone who is not your employee, such as a subcontractor, attorney or accountant $600 or more for services provided during the year, a Form 1099-NEC needs to be completed, and a copy of 1099-NEC must be provided to the independent contractor by January 31 of the year following payment. You must also send a copy of this form to the IRS by January 31.

Also note that independent contractors may have their own employees or may hire other independent contractors (subcontractors). In either case, they should be aware of their tax responsibilities, including filing and reporting requirements, for these workers.

There are certain situations where a 1099-NEC is not required. These exceptions are listed in the Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC PDF.

Filing Electronically

The Filing Information Returns Electronically (FIRE) system is set up for financial institutions and others to file Information Return Forms 1042-S, 1098, 1099, 5498, 8027 or W-2G. Information Returns can be filed electronically, however, you must have software that can produce the file in the proper format as required by Publication 1220. FIRE does not provide an electronic fill-in form option.