2021 年子女税优惠和子女税优惠预付款 — 主题 L:与共同监护相关的常见问题

我们已于 2022 年 2 月 1 日在 情况说明书2022-07PDF 中出版物公布了这些常见问题的更新。

A1. 国税局依据您的 2020 年报税表或您的 2019 年报税表(如果国税局尚未收到您的 2020 年报税表)中的信息决定由谁领取 2021 年子女税优惠预付款。换言之,如果您在您的 2020 年报税表中为您的子女申请了子女税优惠,那么您已领取子女税优惠预付款。如果您的子女的父母另一方在其 2020 年报税表中为子女申请了子女税优惠,那么该方已领取子女税优惠预付款。

如果您知道不符合在您的 2021 年报税表中申请子女税优惠(2022 年 4 月到期)的资格,则请登录国税局网站通过子女税优惠更新门户 (CTC UP) 取消领取每月预付款。2021 年期间仍领取每月预付款,意味着在您在 2022 年报税季提交您的 2021 年报税表时,您必须偿还该等预付款。如果情况再次出现变化,您有权领取 2021 年的子女税优惠,则您在提交下一年的报税表时,您可以申请报税表中的全部抵扣金额。

11 月 29 日东部时间下午 11:59 作出的更新,将在 12 月发放的月度付款中予以反映。

回答 2. 因为您在您的 2020 年报税表中为子女申请了子女税优惠,国税局自动将子女税优惠预付款发放给您,即使您知道您不会在您的 2021 年报税表中为你们的子女申请子女税优惠。在您提交您的 2021 年报税表(2022 年 4 月截止)时,您必须退回超出您就该报税表有权申请部分的子女税优惠预付款。

如果您符合还款保护资格,则您不必退回部分或全部超出金额。获取关于还款保护的更多信息,参见主题 H:在您的 2021 年报税表中调整您的子女税优惠预付款

如果您知道您不会在您的 2021 年报税表中申请子女税优惠,则您可能登录国税局网站通过子女税优惠更新门户 (CTC UP) 取消领取每月预付款。如果情况再次出现变化,您有权领取 2021 年的子女税优惠,则您在提交下一年的报税表时,您可以在 2022 年报税季期间的报税表中申请全部优惠金额。

11 月 29 日东部时间下午 11:59 作出的更新,将在 12 月发放的月度付款中予以反映。

回答3.  能。您将能够在您的 2021 年报税表中为您的子女申请全部金额的子女税优惠,即使父母另一方已领取子女税优惠预付款。父母另一方应已经取消领取子女税优惠预付款,但其决定不影响您申请子女税优惠。

2021 Child Tax Credit and Advance Child Tax Credit Payments — Topic L: Commonly Asked Shared-Custody Questions

These FAQs were released to the public in Fact Sheet 2022-03 PDF, January 11, 2022.

A1. The IRS determined who received 2021 advance Child Tax Credit payments based on the information on your 2020 tax return, or your 2019 return if the IRS hadn’t processed your 2020 return. In other words, if you claimed the Child Tax Credit for your child on your 2020 return, then you would have received the advance Child Tax Credit payments. If your child's other parent claimed the Child Tax Credit on their 2020 tax return, then they would have received the advance Child Tax Credit payments.

If you knew you would not be eligible to claim the Child Tax Credit on your 2021 return (the one due in April of 2022), then you could have unenrolled from receiving monthly payments by using the Child Tax Credit Update Portal (CTC UP) at IRS.gov. Receiving monthly payments during 2021 could mean that you have to repay those payments when you file your 2021 tax return during the 2022 tax filing season. If things changed again and you are entitled to the Child Tax Credit for 2021, you can claim the full amount on your 2021 tax return when you file it.

Updates made by 11:59 pm Eastern Time on November 29 were reflected in the monthly advance Child Tax Credit payments disbursed in December.  

A2. Because you claimed your child on your 2020 tax return, the IRS automatically disbursed advance Child Tax Credit payments to you even though you knew you wouldn’t be claiming your child on your 2021 tax return. When you file your 2021 tax return (the one due in April of 2022), you could have to pay back the advance payments that exceed the amount of the Child Tax Credit you're entitled to claim on that return. 

You may be excused from repaying some or all of the excess amount if you qualify for repayment protection. For more information about repayment protection, see Topic H: Reconciling Your Advance Child Tax Credit Payments on Your 2021 Tax Return.

If you knew you wouldn’t be claiming the Child Tax Credit on your 2021 return, then you could have unenrolled from receiving monthly payments using the Child Tax Credit Update Portal (CTC UP) at IRS.gov. If things changed again and you are entitled to the Child Tax Credit for 2021, you can claim the full amount on your 2021 tax return during the 2022 tax filing season.

Updates made by 11:59 pm Eastern Time on November 29 were reflected in the monthly advance Child Tax Credit payments disbursed in December. 

A3. Yes. You will be able to claim the full amount of the Child Tax Credit for your child on your 2021 tax return even if the other parent received advance Child Tax Credit payments. The other parent should have unenrolled from receiving advance payments, but their decision will not affect your ability to claim the Child Tax Credit.