2021 年子女稅務優惠以及子女稅務優惠預付款——主題 G:領取子女稅務優惠預付款

這些常見問題的更新已於 2022 年 5 月 20 日在情況說明書 2022-29 (英文)PDF中向公眾發布。
 

解答 1. 首先,您應該回顧一下國稅局在您收到您的第一次子女稅務優惠預付款之前郵寄給您的 6417 號信函。這封信告訴您 2021 年稅年您的子女稅務優惠預付款金額和子女稅務優惠預付款金額。

子女稅務優惠預付款的發放從 7 月開始,按月持續到 2021 年 12 月,一般是根據您 2019 年或 2020 年聯邦所得稅申領表中的資訊進行發放。若您有資格獲得子女稅務優惠,但未收到全部或部分子女稅務優惠預付款,您可以在 2022 年報稅季節申報 2021 年的納稅申報單時申領全額稅務優惠。

解答 2. 子女稅務優惠預付款免不會因為前幾年的逾期稅款或其他聯邦或州的欠款而減少(即抵消)。

惟若您在 2021 年報稅時收到了退稅款,且若您欠下稅款或其他聯邦或州的債務,您退稅款中包含的任何剩餘的子女稅務優惠額可能會被抵消。

解答 4. 好。根據聯邦法律,子女稅務優惠預付款不受非聯邦債權人的扣押。因此,在您所在州和當地政府的法律允許的範圍內,您的子女稅務優惠預付款可能會被您所在州、當地政府和私人債權人扣押,包括根據涉及非聯邦方的法庭命令(這可能包括與犯罪有關的罰款、行政法庭費用、賠償和其他法庭命令的債務)。

然而,一些州和金融機構已選擇採取行動保護這些款項。各該款項仍然受到聯邦政府的保護,不會被抵消。例如,若一名納稅人受制於某一私人方獲得的針對性判決,但同時也積欠聯邦估稅,國稅局將保護該款項,使其免於抵銷聯邦稅款。

解答 5. 子女稅務優惠預付款不會因為您的配偶在前幾年的逾期稅款或其他聯邦或州的欠款而減少(即抵消)。

惟若您和您的配偶共同申報 2021 年的稅款並獲得退稅款,則您的退稅款中包含的任何剩餘的子女稅務優惠額可能會因您的配偶所欠的稅款或其他聯邦或州的債務而被抵消。您可以在 2021 年報稅時申報 8379 表(英文)

解答 6. 您仍有權獲取子女稅務優惠預付款。您可能有資格在 2021 年報稅時申領子女稅務優惠,但可能無法申領全額 3,000 美元或各個合格子女的 3,600 美元,因為您的主要住所在 2021 年的一半以上都不在美國。我方寄給您的預付款可能已超過您在 2021 年報稅時允許申領的子女稅務優惠金額。有關更多資訊,請參閱主題 H:核對您在 2021 年納稅申報單上的子女稅務優惠預付款。

解答 7. 您可以採取以下行動之一:

  • 與您合格子女的另一方家長達成協議,允許您為該子女申領 2021 年的子女稅務優惠。您需要從您子女的另一方父母那裡收到一份已署名的 8332 表,即《監護人對子女豁免權的解除/撤銷》(英文),並將其附在您 2021 年申領子女稅務優惠的稅單上。
  • 考慮使用子女稅務優惠更新入口網站 (CTC UP) 來取消子女稅務優惠預付款,或將該子女從您提供給國稅局的子女稅務優惠資訊中刪除。因此,您未來的子女稅務優惠預付款金額將被減少,以考慮到您取消註冊或刪除該子女的情況。(更新入口網站已關閉。)

若您沒有採取任何行動,您可能需要在 2021 年報稅時向國稅局償還您收到的基於該子女的子女稅務優惠預付款金額。這是因為合格子女是指與您一起生活超過半年者,當然還有其他因素需要考慮。若子女的居住地發生變化,他們可能不再是您的合格子女。

解答 8. 如果您舉報,您是與稅務相關的身份盜竊的受害者,在您與稅務相關的身份盜竊的問題解決前,國稅局不會向您發放子女稅務優惠預付款。這些問題和解答會提供更多有關與稅務相關的身份盜竊的詳細資訊。

解答 9. 若您認為您是與稅務有關的身分盜竊的受害者,且沒有向國稅局報告與稅務有關的身分盜竊問題,您應該採取措施來保護自己。透過 IdentityTheft. gov(英文)網站申報 14039 表,即身分盜竊宣誓書(英文)PDF,或透過紙本方式通知國稅局。

在您與稅務有關的身分盜竊問題得到解決之前,國稅局不會向您發放子女稅務優惠預付款。若您沒有為您將在 2021 年申領的合格子女領取子女稅務優惠預付款,您可以在申報 2021 年的納稅申報單時,為該子女申領全額的子女稅務優惠預付款。

解答 10. 國稅局使用您在 2019 年或 2020 年已處理的納稅申報單上的資訊、您在 2020 年在 IRS. gov 上輸入的非納稅人工具的資訊來註冊經濟影響補助金,或您在 2021 年輸入的子女稅務優惠非納稅人註冊工具的資訊,來確定您是否符合條件並自動註冊。您不需要採取任何額外的行動。

若您今年或去年不用報稅,而且您去年沒有註冊經濟影響補償金,您可以在申報 2021 年的納稅申報單時申領子女稅務優惠任何您沒有收到的金額。

解答 11. 若我方沒有您的銀行帳戶資訊,無法透過直接存款方式給您付款,國稅局就會把您的子女稅務優惠預付款作為紙本支票郵寄出去。

此外,若您的銀行帳戶已關閉或無效,國稅局會將您的付款以紙本支票的形式重新郵寄。

2021 Child Tax Credit and Advance Child Tax Credit Payments — Topic G: Receiving Advance Child Tax Credit Payments

These updated FAQs were released to the public in Fact Sheet 2022-29PDF, May 20, 2022.

A1. First, you should review the Letter 6417 that the IRS mailed to you before you received your first advance Child Tax Credit payment. This letter informed you of your estimated Child Tax Credit amount for tax year 2021 and the amounts of your estimated advance Child Tax Credit payments.

Disbursement of advance Child Tax Credit payments began in July and continued on a monthly basis through December 2021, generally based on the information contained in your 2019 or 2020 federal income tax return.  If you are eligible for the Child Tax Credit, but did not receive part or all of your advance Child Tax Credit payments, you can claim the full credit amount when you file your 2021 tax return during the 2022 tax filing season. 

A2. No. Advance Child Tax Credit payments were not reduced (that is, offset) for overdue taxes from previous years or other federal or state debts that you owed.

However, if you receive a refund when you file your 2021 tax return, any remaining Child Tax Credit amounts included in your refund may be subject to offset for tax debts or other federal or state debts you owe.

A4. Yes. Advance Child Tax Credit payments were not exempt from garnishment by non-federal creditors under federal law. Therefore, to the extent permitted by the laws of your state and local government, your advance Child Tax Credit payments might have been subject to garnishment by your state, local government, and private creditors, including pursuant to a court order involving a non-federal party (which can include fines related to a crime, administrative court fees, restitution, and other court-ordered debts).

Some states and financial institutions have chosen to act to protect these payments, however, and these payments were still protected from offset by the federal government. For example, if a taxpayer has a judgment against them obtained by a private party, but also owes assessed federal taxes, the IRS did not subject the payment to offset with respect to the federal taxes. 

A5. No. Advance Child Tax Credit payments were not reduced (that is, offset) for overdue taxes from previous years or other federal or state debts that your spouse owed.

However, if you file a joint 2021 tax return with your spouse and receive a refund, any remaining Child Tax Credit amounts included in your refund may be subject to offset for tax debts or other federal or state debts your spouse owes. You can file Form 8379 with your 2021 tax return.

A6. You were not entitled to advance Child Tax Credit payments. You may be eligible to claim the Child Tax Credit when you file your 2021 tax return, but may not be able to claim all $3,000 or $3,600 per qualifying child because your main home will not be in the United States for more than half of 2021. The advance payments we sent to you might have exceeded the amount of Child Tax Credit that you will be allowed to claim on your 2021 tax return. For more information, see Topic H: Reconciling Your Advance Child Tax Credit Payments on Your 2021 Return.

A7. You could have taken one of the following actions:

  • Agreed with your qualifying child’s other parent to allow you to claim that child for the Child Tax Credit for 2021. You need to receive from your child’s other parent a signed Form 8332, Release/Revocation of Release of Claim to Exemption for Child by Custodial Parent, and attach it to your 2021 tax return on which you claim the Child Tax Credit.
  • Considered using the Child Tax Credit Update Portal (CTC UP) to unenroll from receiving advance Child Tax Credit payments, or to remove that child from your Child Tax Credit information provided to the IRS. As a result, your future advance Child Tax Credit payment amounts would have been reduced to take into account your unenrollment or removal of that child.  (The Update Portal is no longer available.)

If you took neither action, you may need to repay to the IRS the amount of advance Child Tax Credit payments you received that are based on that child when you file your 2021 tax return. This is because a qualifying child is one who lives with you for more than half the year, among other factors. If the child’s residency changed, they may no longer be your qualifying child.

A8. If you reported that you are a victim of tax-related identity theft, the IRS would not have disbursed advance Child Tax Credit payments to you until your tax-related identity theft issue had been resolved.

A9. If you believe you are a victim of tax-related identity theft, and have not reported the tax-related identity theft issue to the IRS, you should take steps to protect yourself. Notify the IRS by filing a Form 14039, Identity Theft AffidavitPDF through IdentityTheft.gov or by filing the Form 14039 by paper.

The IRS would not have disbursed advance Child Tax Credit payments to you until your tax-related identity theft issue had been resolved. If you did not receive advance Child Tax Credit payments for a qualifying child you will claim in 2021, you can claim the full amount of your allowable Child Tax Credit for that child when you file your 2021 tax return.

A10. The IRS used information from your processed 2019 or 2020 tax return, information you entered into the Non-Filer Tool on IRS.gov in 2020 to register for Economic Impact Payments, or information you entered into the Child Tax Credit Non-filer Sign-up Tool in 2021 to determine if you qualified and automatically enroll you.  You did not need to take any additional action.

If you did not have to file your taxes this year or last year, and you did not register for Economic Impact Payments last year, you may be able to claim the Child Tax Credit for any amount you did not receive when you file your 2021 tax return. 

A11. The IRS sent your advance Child Tax Credit payment as a paper check by mail if we did not have your bank account information to send you a payment by direct deposit.

Also, if you had a closed or invalid bank account on file, the IRS reissued your payment as a paper check by mail.