2021 年子女税优惠和子女税优惠预付款 - 主题 F:2021 年期间更新您的子女税优惠信息

我们已于 2022 年 3 月 8 日在 情况说明书2022-17PDF 中出版物公布了这些常见问题的更新。

答1. 国税局在IRS.gov 上提供子女税优惠更新门户网站(CTC UP,这些功能允许您:

  • 选择在 2021 年间不领取子女税优惠预付款;
  • 更新您的银行账户信息;
  • 更新您的邮寄地址;以及
  1. 更新您的收入。

11 月 29 日东部时间下午 11:59 作出的更新,在 12 月发放的月度子女税优惠预付款中予以反映。

备注:如果您但没有账户,许多金融机构会帮助您开一个低成本或无成本的银行账户。请访问 联邦存款保险公司网站(英文),了解在线开户的细节,或使用FDICBankFind(英文)工具找到一家FDIC担保的银行。BankOn(英文)美国银行家协会 (American Bankers Association)(英文)美国独立社区银行家 (Independent Community Bankers of America)(英文)以及 国家信用合作社管理局 (National Credit Union Administration)(英文)有可以在线开户的银行和信用社的名单。如果您是退伍军人,请参见退伍军人福利银行计划(英文),获取参与银行提供的金融服务。

答2。是的,条件是您使用子女税优惠更新门户网站(CTC UP提供您的最新收入。在 2021 年晚些时候,本在线门户网站允许您更新您计划在 2021 年纳税申报表上报告的收入,以便我们可以更改您 2021 年子女税优惠的预估值。这允许我们改变您每月子女税优惠付款的金额。

11 月 29 日东部时间下午 11:59 作出的更新,在 12 月发放的月度子女税优惠预付款中予以反映。

答 3. 您的首次子女税优惠预付款将基于您的 2020 年纳税申报表(或 2019 年纳税申报表,如果您的 2020 年纳税申报表截至您的子女税优惠每月预付款的付款确定日期尚未处理)中您申请子女税优惠的子女。

如果您未领取您将在 2021 年申请的具备资格子女的子女税优惠预付款,您可以在 2022 年报税季提交您的 2021 年报税表时为该子女申请全额许可子女税优惠。

答 4. 从2021年7月开始,国税局开始每月向纳税人预付2021年子女税优惠的款项。 对于许多纳税人来说,2021年子女税优惠的金额也比2020年子女税优惠的金额有所增加。 然而,取决于纳税人的情况,预付款总额可能大于2021年优惠的任何增加额。如果在2021年没有做任何事情来调整他们工资中的所得税预扣(并且没有取消每月预付款),对于这种情况的纳税人,他们在2022年收到的退税金额可能比2021年收到的退税减少,或者在2022年他们提交的2021年所得税报税表上的欠税额可能比在2021年的欠税额增加。 一些纳税人也可能从2021年获得退税转为在2022年欠下税款。

因此,在2021年提交2020年报税表时收到少量退税或有欠税额的纳税人应取消子女税优惠预付款,更新他们的W-4表格,在表格的第4c步输入每个工资支付期要预扣的额外金额,或在2021年剩余时间内按季度支付预估税款。

11 月 29 日东部时间下午 11:59 作出的更新,在 12 月发放的月度子女税优惠预付款中予以反映。

关于您的子女税优惠预付款如何计算和支付的更多信息,请参阅主题D:子女税优惠预付款的计算,以及主题E:子女税优惠的预付款流程。 个人可以通过 子女税优惠更新门户(CTC UP取消子女税优惠预付款。有关CTC UP的更多信息,请参见主题F:2021 年期间更新您的子女税优惠信息

2021 Child Tax Credit and Advance Child Tax Credit Payments — Topic F: Updating Your Child Tax Credit Information During 2021

These updated FAQs were released to the public in Fact Sheet 2022-17PDF , March 8, 2022.

A1. The IRS launched on IRS.gov a Child Tax Credit Update Portal (CTC UP) to allow you to:

  • Elect not to receive advance Child Tax Credit payments during 2021;
  • Update your bank account information;
  • Update your mailing address; and
  • Update your income.

Updates made by 11:59 pm Eastern Time on November 29 were reflected in the monthly advance Child Tax Credit payments disbursed in December.

Note:  If you  don’t have an account, many financial institutions will help you open a low-cost or no-cost bank account. Visit the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation website for details on opening an account online or use the FDIC's BankFind tool to locate an FDIC-insured bank. BankOn, American Bankers Association, Independent Community Bankers of America, and the National Credit Union Administration have lists of banks and credit unions that can open an account online. See the Veterans Benefits Banking Program, if you’re a veteran, for access to financial services at participating banks.

A2. Yes, if you provided your updated income by using the Child Tax Credit Update Portal (CTC UP). This online portal allowed you to update income you planned to report on your 2021 tax return so that we could change our estimate of your 2021 Child Tax Credit. This allowed us to adjust the amount of your monthly advance Child Tax Credit payments in 2021 to account for your income change.

Updates made by 11:59 pm Eastern Time on November 29 were reflected in the monthly advance Child Tax Credit payments disbursed in December.

A3. Your advance Child Tax Credit payments were based on the children you claimed for the Child Tax Credit on your 2020 tax return (or 2019 tax return, if your 2020 tax return had not been processed as of the payment determination date for any of your monthly advance Child Tax Credit payments).

If you did not receive advance Child Tax Credit payments for a qualifying child you will claim for 2021, you can claim the full amount of your allowable Child Tax Credit for that child when you file your 2021 tax return during the 2022 tax filing season.

A4. In July 2021, the IRS started making advance monthly payments of the 2021 Child Tax Credit.  For many families, the amount of the 2021 Child Tax Credit increased compared to the amount of the 2020 Child Tax Credit. However, the total advance payments may be greater than any increase in the 2021 credit, depending on a family’s circumstances. If you’re in this situation and did not adjust income tax withholding from your pay in 2021 (and did not unenroll from advance monthly payments), the amount of your tax refund received in 2022 may decrease compared to the refund received in 2021, or the balance due in 2022 with your 2021 income tax return may increase compared to the balance due in 2021. Some taxpayers also may shift from getting a refund in 2021 to owing a balance in 2022.

Therefore, if you received a small refund or had a balance due when you filed your tax return for 2020 in 2021, you could have unenrolled from advance Child Tax Credit payments, updated your Form W-4 by entering an additional amount to be withheld each pay period on step 4c of the form, or made quarterly estimated tax payments for the remainder of 2021.

Updates made by 11:59 pm Eastern Time on November 29 were reflected in the monthly advance Child Tax Credit payments disbursed in December. 

For more information about how your advance Child Tax Credit payments were calculated and disbursed, see Topic D: Calculation of Advance Child Tax Credit Payments, and Topic E: Advance Payment Process of the Child Tax Credit.  Individuals were able to unenroll from advance Child Tax Credit payments through the Child Tax Credit Update Portal (CTC UP). For more information regarding the CTC UP, see Topic F: Updating Your Child Tax Credit Information During 2021.