现在就采取步骤,立刻开始明年的报税

税务规划是为大家而做。今天就准备好申报联邦所得税。

现在就可以采取步骤,让 2021 年的报税变得更容易。

查看您的在线账户,允许您通过IRS.gov上安全和方便的工具,获取关于您的联邦税务账户的最新信息。

查看您的帐户信息以了解您最近一次报税的信息。

现在拥有一个账户的两个重要原因是:

  • IRS.gov/account上有账户的个人可以查看他们收到的经济影响补助金的金额。
  • 有些人如果使用不同的软件申报2020年的税表,就需要2019年的调整后总收入的数额。

如果您对如何创建账户或如何重置您的用户名或密码有问题,请参阅安全访问:如何注册某些在线自助工具

整理好记录,更易于准备报税。它还可以帮助您发现可能被忽略的扣除或抵扣。

在您的纳税记录中包括:

  • 雇主的 W-2 表格
  • 银行和其他付款人的 1099 表格
  • 其他收入文件和虚拟货币交易记录。
  • 1095-A表,健康保险市集表,如果您购买了市场保险
  • 1444号通知,您的经济影响补助金 (英文),如果您收到了经济影响补助金,并且认为您有资格获得纾困金退税额

如果您的地址变更(英文)请通知国税局;如果您的法定姓名发生变化,请通知美国社会保障署(英文)

请记住,大多数收入都是要交税的。这包括:

确保在2021年报税之前,您的个人税务识别号(ITIN尚未过期。如果您需要在 2020 年报税,国税局建议您现在就提交 W-7 表格, 申请国税局个人纳税人识别号码,或 W-7表格(西班牙文), Solicitud de Número del Identificación Personal del Contribuyente del Servicio de Impuestos Internos,即刻更新您的 ITIN 码。提醒各位,的中间数字为 70、71、72、73、 74、75、76、77、78、79、80、81、82、83、84、85、86或 87 的ITIN 码于 2016 年、2017 年、2018 年或 2019 年过期,也可以更新。

使用预扣税款估算器(英文)帮您确定从您的工资单中预扣的正确税款数额。IRS.gov上的这个工具可以帮您确定是否需要调整您的预扣税款,并向雇主提交一份新的 W-4 表格。

考虑预估纳税。如果您收到大量的非工资收入,如自雇收入、投资收入、应税的社会保障福利,以及在某些情况下,养老金和年金收入,您应该每季度支付估计税款,2020 的最后一次付款应在 2021 年 1 月 15 日支付。支付选项可以在 IRS.gov/payments 找到。

    2021 年报税有哪些新增内容和注意事项?

    没有资格获得经济影响补助金 (英文) 或没有获得全额补助金的个人,根据他们2020年的纳税情况,可能有资格获得纾困金退税额

    如果您收到了每轮经济影响补助金的全额,您在申报2020年的税表时将不包括任何有关此补助的信息。

    如果您有资格,即使您通常不报税,您也需要申报2020年的税表以申报纾困金退税额。

    如果您收到了联邦退税,您可能已经收到了利息。所付利息是需要纳税的(英文)必须在 2020 年联邦所得税申报中报告。2021 年 1 月,国税局将向任何收到利息总额至少 $ 10 的人发送1099-INT 表格(英文)

    虽然国税局在 21 天内就会发出大多数退税,但国税局提醒纳税人不要依赖

    在某一日期前收到退税(英文),特别是在进行大宗购物或支付账单时更是如此。有些退税可能需要额外的审查,可能用时更多。例如,国税局与税务行业的合作伙伴一起,继续加强安全审查,以帮助防止身份盗窃和退税欺诈。此外,申请"收入所得税抵免"(EITC)或 "额外儿童税收抵免"(ACTC)的人的退款在 2 月中旬之前不能发放。法律要求国税局必须扣留全部退款--即使是与 EITC ACTC 无关的部分。这项法律修改于 2017 年生效,通过给国税局更多时间来发现和防止欺诈行为,有助于确保纳税人收到他们应得的退款。

      保持社交距离:待在家里,使用国税局的在线工具保证安全。

      先到 IRS.gov 通过在线工具帮助您获得所需信息。这些工具易于使用,而且每天 24 小时均可使用。数以百万计的人在使用这些工具来帮助报税和缴税,查找相关账户信息,并解答税务问题。

      当您准备好报税时,请使用这些在线工具获得所需帮助。

      使用 IRS 免费报税

      从 2021 年 1 月开始,几乎每个人都可以在 IRS.gov 或通过 IRS2Go 应用程序免费进行电子申报。 IRS 免费报税计划,仅通过 IRS.gov 提供品牌备税软件包免费使用。该软件为您完成寻找扣除额、抵免额和豁免额的所有工作。对于 2020 年收入 7.2 万美元或以下的人来说,该软件免费。部分免费文件包还提供免费的州报税准备。

      如果对自己准备报税感到满意,您可以使用免费报税表(英文),无论收入状况如何,均可通过邮寄或在线报税。

      使用 VITA 定位工具(英文)

      国税局志愿者所得税援助(VITA)和老年人税务咨询(TCE)计划为符合条件的个人提供免费的基本报税准备VITA 定位工具。将帮助您找到附近开放的 VITA 站点。

      找到税务专业人员

      您有几种选择来帮助寻找备报税员。其中一个资源是"选择税务专业人员",它提供了丰富的税务专业人员信息选择。有各种类型的报税员,包括注册代理、注册会计师、律师和一些没有专业资格证书的人。

      持有资格证书和特定资格的联邦报税员名录(英文)可以帮您找到所在地区的报税员,这些报税师目前持有美国国税局认可的专业资格证书,或持有年度申报季计划的完成记录。

      使用交互式税务助理(ITA)(英文)

      从 2021 年 1 月开始,使用 ITA 来了解生活事件的变化是否使您有资格获得过去没有资格获得的抵免。ITA 是为许多税法问题提供答案的工具。它可以确定某类收入是否需要纳税,您是否有资格申请某些抵免,或者您是否可以在报税时扣除费用。它还提供了一般问题的答案,例如确定您的申报状态,您是否可以申请受抚养人,或者您是否必须报税。

      通过访问IRS.gov 并点击我的退税在哪里?查看您的退税状态。在国税局收到您的电子报税表后,您的退税状态会得以显示。如果您提交的是纸质报税表,那么在邮寄后可能需要 4 周时间。我的退税在哪里?工具每 24 小时更新一次,通常是隔夜更新,所以您每天只需查看一次。

      以电子方式报税,并选择直接存款(英文)来办理退税—这是最快捷、最安全的收款方式。电子报税在 24小 时内就能收到,而纸质报税则需要数周时间。如果您提交的是纸质报税表,您仍可选择直接存款。美国联邦存款保险公司网站(英文)会提供信息,帮助您在网上开户。

      现在是加入志愿者所得税援助(VITA)和老年人税务咨询(TCE)计划的最佳时机。VITA/TCE 志愿者为符合条件的纳税人提供免费的报税服务。由于许多人今年经历了财务变化,需要更多的志愿者来提供帮助。作为回应,国税局正在推出新方法,使志愿服务更容易。

      今年的新举措是,潜在的志愿者可通过虚拟方式来了解关于该计划的更多信息,找出适合自己的志愿者角色并提出问题。此外,部分网站现在将为志愿者提供虚拟协助纳税人的选项,而不是进行面对面的援助。这使得志愿者可以通过电话或在线帮助纳税人完成报税。部分志愿者可能会在向国税局提交电子报税单之前与纳税人进行质量审查。虚拟志愿服务对于新志愿者来说是个很好的选择,因为他们可以在完成报税时向有经验的志愿者寻求帮助。

      访问IRS.gov/volunteers(英文)了解更多信息并完成注册。注册后,您会收到关于参加虚拟指导的更多信息。

      税务链接与学习(英文)是基于网络的志愿者培训计划。它为 VITA TCE 合作伙伴和志愿者在当地社区提供高质量的报税服务做准备。这个有趣的互动课程教您如何准确地准备个人所得税申报,您可以按照自己的进度获得志愿者认证!

Steps to Take Now to Get a Jump on Your Taxes

Tax planning is for everyone. Get ready today to file your federal income tax return.

Steps you can take now to make tax filing easier in 2021

Viewing your online account allows you to access the latest information available about your federal tax account through a secure and convenient tool on IRS.gov.

View your account information to see information from your most recently filed tax return.

Two important reasons to have an account now are:

  • Individuals with an account on IRS.gov/account can view the amounts of the Economic Impact Payments they received.
  • Some people will need the amount of their adjusted gross income from 2019 if they use different software to file their tax returns for 2020.

If you have questions about how to create an account or how to reset your username or password, see Secure Access: How to Register for Certain Online Self-Help Tools.

Have your records organized to make preparing a tax return easier. It may also help you discover potentially overlooked deductions or credits.

Include in your tax records:

  • Forms W-2 from employers
  • Forms 1099 from banks and other payers
  • Other income documents and records of virtual currency transactions.
  • Form 1095-A, Health Insurance Marketplace Statement, if you purchased Marketplace coverage
  • Notice 1444, Your Economic Tax Payment, if you received an Economic Impact Payment and think you qualify for the Recovery Rebate Credit

Notify the IRS if your address changes and notify the Social Security Administration of a legal name change.

Remember, most income is taxable. This includes:

Ensure your Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN) hasn’t  expired before you file a tax return in 2021. If you need to file a tax return in 2020, IRS recommends you submit a Form W-7, Application for IRS Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, or Formulario W-7 (SP), Solicitud de Número del Identificación Personal del Contribuyente del Servicio de Impuestos Internos, now to renew your ITIN. As a reminder, ITINs with middle digits 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, or 87 that expired in 2016, 2017,  2018, or 2019 can also be renewed.

Use the Tax Withholding Estimator to help you determine  the right amount of tax to have withheld from your paycheck. This tool on IRS.gov will help determine if you need to adjust your withholding and submit a new Form W-4 to your employer. 

Consider estimated tax payments. If you receive a substantial amount of non-wage income like self-employment income, investment income, taxable Social Security benefits and in some instances, pension and annuity income you should make quarterly estimated tax payments, with the last payment for 2020 due on Jan. 15, 2021. Payment options can be found at IRS.gov/payments.

 What’s new and what to consider when you file in 2021

Individuals who didn’t qualify for Economic Impact Payments or did not receive the full amount may be eligible for the Recovery Rebate Credit based on their 2020 tax situation.

If you received the full amount for each Economic Impact Payment, you won’t include any information about either when you file your 2020 tax return.

 If you’re eligible, you’ll need to file a 2020 tax return even if you don’t usually file to claim the Recovery Rebate Credit.

    If you received a federal tax refund, you may have been paid interest. Interest payments are taxable and must be reported on your 2020 federal income tax return. In January 2021, the IRS will send a Form 1099-INT to anyone who receives interest totaling at least $10.

    Although the IRS issues most refunds in less than 21 days, the IRS cautions taxpayers not to rely on receiving a refund by a certain date, especially when making major purchases or paying bills. Some returns may require additional review and may take longer. For example, the IRS, along with its partners in the tax industry, continue to strengthen security reviews to help protect against identity theft and refund fraud. Additionally, refunds for people claiming the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) or Additional Child Tax Credit (ACTC) can’t be issued before mid-February. The law requires the IRS to hold the entire refund − even the portion not associated with EITC or ACTC. This law change, which took effect in 2017, helps ensure that taxpayers receive the refund they're due by giving the IRS more time to detect and prevent fraud.

    Social distancing: Stay home and stay safe with IRS online tools

    Make your first stop IRS.gov where you’ll find online tools to help you get the information you need.  The tools are easy-to-use and available 24 hours a day. Millions of people use them to help file and pay taxes, find information about their accounts and get answers to tax questions.

    Get the help you need when you’re ready to file with these online tools:

    Use IRS Free File  

    Beginning in January 2021, almost everyone can file electronically for free on IRS.gov or with the IRS2Go app. The IRS Free File program, available only through IRS.gov, offers brand-name tax preparation software packages to use at no cost. The software does all the work of finding deductions, credits and exemptions for you. It‘s free for those who earned $72,000 or less in 2020. Some of the Free File packages also offer free state tax return preparation.

    If you’re comfortable preparing your own taxes, you can use Free File Fillable Forms, regardless of your income, to file your tax returns either by mail or online.

    Use the VITA Locator Tool

    The IRS's Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) and Tax Counseling for the Elderly (TCE) programs offer free basic tax return preparation to qualified individuals. The VITA Locator Tool. Will help you locate an open VITA site near you.

    Find a tax professional

    You have several options to help find a tax preparer. One resource is Choosing a Tax Professional, which offers a wealth of information for selecting a tax professional. There are various types of tax return preparers, including enrolled agents, certified public accountants, attorneys and some who don't have a professional credential.

    The Directory of Federal Tax Return Preparers with Credentials and Select Qualifications can help you find preparers in your area who currently hold professional credentials recognized by the IRS, or who hold an Annual Filing Season Program Record of Completion.

    Use the Interactive Tax Assistant (ITA)

    Beginning in January 2021 use the ITA to find out if life event changes make you eligible for credits you didn’t qualify for in the past. The ITA is a tool that provides answers to many tax law questions. It can determine if a type of income is taxable, if you're eligible to claim certain credits, or if you can deduct expenses on your tax return. It also provides answers for general questions, such as determining your filing status, if you can claim dependents, or if you have to file a tax return.

    Check the status of your refund  by going to IRS.gov and clicking on Where's My Refund? The status of your refund will be available within 24 hours after the IRS receives your e-filed tax return. If you filed a paper return, it can take up to four weeks after it is mailed. The Where’s My Refund? tool updates once every 24 hours, usually overnight, so you only need to check once a day.

    File electronically and choose Direct Deposit for your tax refund – it’s the fastest and safest way to receive your money. Electronically filed tax returns are received within 24 hours, and paper tax returns take weeks. If you file a paper return, you can still choose direct deposit. The FDIC website offers information to help you open an account online.

    There’s never been a better time to join the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) and Tax Counseling for the Elderly (TCE) programs. VITA/TCE volunteers provide free tax return preparation for eligible taxpayers. With many people experiencing financial changes this year, additional volunteers are needed to assist them. In response, the IRS is rolling out new ways to make volunteering easier.

    New this year, potential volunteers can tune in virtually to learn more about the program, find out which volunteer role is right for them and ask questions. Additionally, some sites will now give volunteers the option to assist taxpayers virtually rather than the face to face assistance. This allows volunteers to help taxpayers complete their returns over the phone or online. Some volunteers may conduct a quality review with the taxpayer before the tax return is e-filed with the IRS. Virtual volunteering is a great option for new volunteers, since they can ask experienced volunteers for help while completing tax returns.

    Visit IRS.gov/volunteers to learn more and sign up. After signing up, you’ll receive more information about attending a virtual orientation.

    Link & Learn Taxes is a web-based training program for volunteers. It prepares VITA and TCE partners and volunteers to provide quality tax return preparation services in their local communities. This fun, interactive course teaches you to accurately prepare income tax returns for individuals, and you can obtain volunteer certification along the way at your own pace!

    Publication 5348, Get Ready to File
    Follow these tips to file your federal tax return.

    Publication 5349, Year-round tax planning is for everyone
    Guidelines to plan ahead for filing your taxes.

    Publication 5136, IRS Services Guide